You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-08 04:13

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hello to All

I'm new to Q4OS.  I just did a fresh install on a old Via EPIA pc all went well but the Profiler fails error 30 saying no internet link.

In a terminal window I was able to do apt update and upgrade and both worked confirming that I am connected to the internet.

Also connected with an Ethernet cable not wifi.

The ISO I used for the install was q4os-3.14-i386-instcd.r4.iso and I chose the auto install.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Offline

#2 2021-04-08 12:03

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,067
Website

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

We are not able to reproduce the issue. Please run in terminal:
$ wget -T30 -t2 -P/tmp/ www.q4os.org/touch/.tstinet
and post output of the command here.

Offline

#3 2021-04-08 16:04

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi Thankyou so much for the quick reply

Here it is

Thanks


Attachments:
png q4os1.PNG, Size: 48.74 KiB, Downloads: 16

Offline

#4 2021-04-08 16:36

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,067
Website

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

You can get "Unable to establish SSL connection" from wget if you're behind a proxy and don't have HTTP_PROXY and HTTPS_PROXY environment variables set correctly. Make sure to set HTTP_PROXY and HTTPS_PROXY to point to your proxy.

Offline

#5 2021-04-08 17:11

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi

sorry I am new to linux

How do I do the Proxy ?

If you can give me the exact commands that would be great! smile


Thank you

Offline

#6 2021-04-10 04:14

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hello

Strange I use the web browser and I can get to websites including Q4OS.  So I do have connectivity to the internet.

I'm going to google Proxies and bone up.

any other clues

Thank you

Offline

#7 2021-04-10 09:55

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,067
Website

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

The "wget" command should work out of the box. If not so, that looks like your network utilize a proxy server. Please try to run in terminal:
$ export http_proxy=http://proxy_host:proxy_port
$ wget -T30 -t2 -P/tmp/ www.q4os.org/touch/.tstinet
$ wget google.com
and post back

Offline

#8 2021-04-10 13:27

aluma
Member
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

I probably do not understand something. Profile selection should be after loading Q4os. Why then do we see Windows Powershell on the screen in post #3?

Offline

#9 2021-04-10 23:58

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi q4osteam

Here it is.

I am logging in remotely from my W10 PC using the power shell so I can do a  screen capture with snipit tool

Is that ok ?


Attachments:
png q4os2.PNG, Size: 61.75 KiB, Downloads: 14

Offline

#10 2021-04-11 00:01

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi Aluma

If I do it directly at the computer then I would have to take a pic then copy it to my windows pc

Doing it remotely helps out with screen capture

regards

Offline

#11 2021-04-11 01:02

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,067
Website

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Yes, SSH access is ok. Nonetheless, you need to substitute "http://proxy_host:proxy_port" with your real proxy settings and run commands above again. If you are not behind a proxy, just run:
$ wget google.com
and post back.

Offline

#12 2021-04-11 01:29

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi q4osteam

How do I find out my real proxy settings?

But I've included a pic to see if it gives you any valuable info.

thanks


Attachments:
png q4os3.PNG, Size: 77.62 KiB, Downloads: 6

Offline

#13 2021-04-11 01:40

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi

When I use the web browser I can get to q4os web site (https://www.q40s.org/)

and also google (http://www.google.com/)

I'm not sure if this gives you any valuable info in regards to https & http ?

I just don't know how to find out my proxy settings

echo 'https_proxy' & echo 'http_proxy' return nothing, not sure what that means

Thank you

Offline

#14 2021-04-11 07:28

aluma
Member
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi macg143
On my lenovo s205 q4os-3.14-i386-instcd.r2.iso installed without problems. If your computer can be booted from a USB stick, try the live q4os-2.7-i686pae.r5.iso (https://q4os.org/downloads3.html)
New releases usually have more uncorrected bugs.
regards

Offline

#15 2021-04-11 15:32

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi aluma

thankyou so much I will try it! smile

regards

Offline

#16 2021-04-11 16:42

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi aluma

I tried installing q4os-2.7-i686pae.r5 and same results

when I try to do the desktop profiler it says error:30 no internet link but I can open up the web browser and go to q4os and google websites fine!  strange

Thanks at least it was something to try!

I don't understand how I can go to the websites but when I try to do the desktop profiler q4os thinks i have no internet!

have a great day

Offline

#17 2021-04-11 17:17

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,067
Website

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

@macg143
The issue comes from the "wget" command. Q4OS tools use "wget" to check for the Internet access. Unfortunately, we are not able to reproduce and so fully investigate the issue. That looks like it's somehow specific to your hardware, network, or geo-location. Please try to run:
$ wget google.com
$ wget q4os.org
$ sudo wget q4os.org
and post back. Anyway thanks for reporting, we will try to reproduce and investigate the issue and post back as soon as some new information emerge. Anyone else noticed similar issue ?

Offline

#18 2021-04-11 21:44

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi q4osteam

Here it is

thank you


Attachments:
png q4os4.PNG, Size: 93.94 KiB, Downloads: 12

Offline

#19 2021-04-11 22:42

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,067
Website

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Thanks, it would be helpful, if you would run the "wget" command once again with debug information output enabled:
$ ( wget -d q4os.org 2>&1 ) > /tmp/wget.log
and attach the generated file "/tmp/wget.log" here, click Post reply > Choose file button

EDIT:
One more test would be to try wget with encrypted "https" protocol:
$ wget https://www.q4os.org/
and with plain "http" protocol
$ wget http://www.q4os.org/

Last edited by q4osteam (2021-04-11 23:05)

Offline

#20 2021-04-12 00:31

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi q4os team

Here's a pic

Not sure of the wget.log file command, it would never return to the prompt, I had to control C it to get the prompt back.

Not sure of the syntax of the command

thank you


Attachments:
png q4os5.PNG, Size: 133.06 KiB, Downloads: 3

Offline

#21 2021-04-12 00:45

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi q4osteam

Here's a pic of a cat of the wget.log file, don't know how to get it on my pc

thanks you


Attachments:
png q4os6.PNG, Size: 65.76 KiB, Downloads: 7

Offline

#22 2021-04-12 00:55

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi q4osteam

I was able to get it on a usb in linux and then move it to the pc smile

thank you


Attachments:
log wget.log, Size: 9.24 KiB, Downloads: 8

Offline

#23 2021-04-12 08:24

aluma
Member
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

q4osteam wrote:

@macg143
Anyone else noticed similar issue ?

Not quite in the subject ...
This is live slax-32bit-9.11.0.iso, similar issue. On the same computer Q4os (32 and 64-bit) releases work Ok.

Last edited by aluma (Yesterday 16:25)

Offline

#24 2021-04-12 22:41

macg143
Member
Registered: 2021-04-08
Posts: 16

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

Hi

I found this in tips and tutorials but am now sure what it means!

regards


Attachments:
png q4os7.PNG, Size: 55.76 KiB, Downloads: 12

Offline

#25 Yesterday 12:55

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,067
Website

Re: Desktop profiler failed after fresh install on 32bit i386 Via EPIA

@macg143
We are still not able to reproduce the issue, "wget" works fine here and there. Maybe your router, or Internet provider, blocks the wget requests somehow. It would be helpful, if you would connect your computer to an independent Internet connection off of your router, for example via a mobile network and test "wget" again:
$ wget q4os.org

Another valuable try would be Q4OS installation in Virtualbox and checking wget command.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB