You are not logged in.

#26 2021-06-16 10:44

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,006

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

q4osteam wrote:

We can confirm that. We would assume, Firefox uses different engines for rendering different widgets, most likely the main scrollbar uses some sort of integrated GTK engine, while others use the system theme. Does FF main scrollbar follow the configured GTK3 theme at all in other desktop environments, for ex. XFCE ?

Thanks for the info - I will remove the settings_trinity.ini as suggested.

The themes mentioned - and others - are all recognised fully in
Buster + XFCE
Buster + Trinity 14.0.10
Bullseye + MATE
Bullseye + LXDE

I suspect it IS a GTK3 thing, though it would make no sense to use different scroll bars in different windows.

The various DEs are not readily comparable side by side as I know that both MATE and LXDE draw heavily on GTK2 despite being on Bullseye so it may be more of luck than anything else.

At least the config tools now work as expected in other applications so it hasn't been a pointless exercise smile

Thanks again!

Offline

#27 2021-06-16 17:31

Rosul
Member
Registered: 2021-06-16
Posts: 3

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

If I install this build, can I just continue to use it after Debian and Q4OS have released stable releases, will I need to reinstall or do other things?

Offline

#28 2021-06-16 19:36

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

Yes, it will be possible update and continue using it, however a new installation will be recommended to get a fresh and clean stable system.

Offline

#29 2021-06-16 20:10

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

bin wrote:

The themes mentioned - and others - are all recognised fully in
Buster + XFCE
Buster + Trinity 14.0.10
Bullseye + MATE
Bullseye + LXDE

Confirmed. In addition, Firefox ESR in Plasma seems to work partially, the same way as in Trinity. Those systems:
Bullseye + TDE
Bullseye + Plasma

Offline

#30 2021-06-17 06:20

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,006

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

I've just tried with Bullseye + XFCE - Firefox ESR honours the themes

Last edited by bin (2021-06-17 09:13)

Offline

#31 2021-06-17 09:13

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,006

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

q4osteam wrote:
bin wrote:

The themes mentioned - and others - are all recognised fully in
Buster + XFCE
Buster + Trinity 14.0.10
Bullseye + MATE
Bullseye + LXDE

Confirmed. In addition, Firefox ESR in Plasma seems to work partially, the same way as in Trinity. Those systems:
Bullseye + TDE
Bullseye + Plasma

Just done a quick install with the latest Bullseye + Plasma KDE from the Debian weekly builds

Firefox behaves perfectly with the installed GTK themes mentioned.

Double checked with a different Bullseye + Plasma distro and that was also fine with both ESR 78 and FF 88.0

Offline

#32 2021-06-17 09:31

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

bin wrote:

Just done a quick install with the latest Bullseye + Plasma KDE from the Debian weekly builds
Firefox behaves perfectly with the installed GTK themes mentioned.
Double checked with a different Bullseye + Plasma distro and that was also fine with both ESR 78 and FF 88.0

Confirmed. So, it's definitely Q4OS issue, we will continue to investigate it. Are there other elements in Firefox, except the main window scrollbar, not following the GTK3 theme ?

Edit:
We have created new bug report https://sourceforge.net/p/q4os/tickets/160/ . Reporting any related findings is appreciated.

Last edited by q4osteam (2021-06-17 11:00)

Offline

#33 2021-06-17 11:45

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,006

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

I have updated the ticket as follows:-
Some of the tools under the hamburger do follow the GTK theme. The ones that do not are:-
Protections dashboard
New Window
New Private Window
Logins and Passwords

Offline

#34 2021-06-28 15:41

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

Hi,

In order to test if Q4os 4.5 Gemini could solve this issue (SEC_ERROR_PKCS11_GENERAL_ERROR) I tried to install it in several machines, but all attempts failed.

  • Desktop Intel i5 with VTx - Win10 x64 host - VirtualBox 5.2.38 x64 - q4os-4.5-x64-testing.r2.iso
        I get many error messages scrolling several screens, ending with Kernel panic - not syncing: Attempted to kill ini!.
        Another time it ends with "A start job is runnig for... and freezes"

  • Laptop Intel P6000 without VTx - Q4OS 3.14 host - VirtualBox 5.2 x64 - q4os-4.5-i386-instcd-testing.r2.iso
        I get two successive Segmentation fault errors, but I don't have enough time to read all.
        When I arrive at the language selection screen, the VM totally freezes; no action of the keyboard or the mouse is possible.

I never had any problem when I tried to install Q4OS 3.10 and the following editions. Did I miss something with Q4OS 4.5? Maybe a specific requirement?

Note that my main concern is to try to search further the reason of the SEC_ERROR_PKCS11_GENERAL_ERROR about which I posted a message last week; I was curious whether it could be solved with Gemini.


Thanks,
Laurent


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#35 2021-06-28 16:38

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

I could enable the video capture of the VM machine. Here are the messages displayed in the second case of my previous mesage:

Segmentation fault
Starting system log daemon: syslogd, klogd.
Trying to enable the frame buffer...
Trying to enable the frame buffer...
Segmentation fault
haveged: command socket is listening at fd 3

Then the screen is filled with white blocks and thereafter with black blocks.

After that comes the Select a language dialog and freezes on it.


Edit: Not these problems when I tried to install q4os-3.14-i386-instcd.r5.iso

Last edited by hchiper (2021-06-28 17:00)


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#36 2021-07-01 07:52

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

@hchiper
Thanks for reporting. We are not able to reproduce crashes in Virtualbox, the virtual machine boots fine. What parameters for the VM did you set upon creating it ?

Offline

#37 2021-07-02 15:25

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

Thanks for your response.
I think the best way to answer your question is to attach my .vbox configuration file.
I use VirtualBox 5.2.34 r133893


Attachments:
vbox Q4OS Gemini.vbox, Size: 2.95 KiB, Downloads: 23

Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#38 2021-07-03 18:15

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 135

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

4.5 r2 flawless installation!

Was nice to see Vivaldi added to list of readily available software list ! smile
It is running just fine!

- - - - -

Don't know why, but it seems that the only way i can ever make the HP 1018 printer to work, is to manually install the driver via Konsole with:
hp-plugin -i

(just in case someone has same issue).


DELL Latitude E5430 i5-3210M CPU@2.50Ghz, 2 Core - 8Gb RAM.

Offline

#39 2021-07-05 10:37

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

@danielson
Would you specify the way and error on HP 1018 printer installation for us to be able to reproduce and investigate ?

Offline

#40 2021-07-05 10:40

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

@hchiper
You may need to use the more up to date Virtualbox version 6.

Offline

#41 2021-07-05 13:02

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

Thanks q4aosteam.

The problem with Virtualbox6 is that I even cannot save a machine config (OK button greyed) because VB detects an error and requires me to disable VT-x acceleration in the Acceleration tab. But this tab is inaccessible (greyed), I suppose because my processor has no VT-x.

Edit:
Looks like VB6 enables VT-x by default, even if the host has no VT-x... ?

Edit 2:
I just tried to install Debian debian-bullseye-DI-rc2-i386-netinst.iso in VB5.2 and the behavior was exactly the same (segmentation faults and blocked on the language dialog).

Last edited by hchiper (2021-07-05 13:42)


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#42 2021-07-06 02:59

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 135

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

q4osteam wrote:

@danielson
Would you specify the way and error on HP 1018 printer installation for us to be able to reproduce and investigate ?

Sorry for the delay.

There are no error messages.

Diligently install the HP app. (btw, printer was already recognized by OS) which says the driver would be installed (but never happens).

So, always install it manually as per command line mentioned.

I'm used to it, as all the other OS do it too.

Not a Q4OS issue for sure!

Just a stupid ol' HP printer.


DELL Latitude E5430 i5-3210M CPU@2.50Ghz, 2 Core - 8Gb RAM.

Offline

#43 2021-07-06 05:15

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,006

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

I find the Gutenprint driver works much better with my HP 1010 than HP CUPS

Connected via a USB print server and uses Appsocket/HP Jet Direct protocol

Offline

#44 2021-07-06 20:49

aluma
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 136

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

Not everyone is so lucky! smile
My HP LaserJet 1005 (like the 1018 of colleagues) is not in the Gutenprint lists.
So, unfortunately, I can't. compare the performance of hardware manufacturer programs and free software programmers, but, from experience, the latter usually fail for known reasons.
However. under Linux, I can use the scanner of my HP f2400, without ink tanks, but under Win they do not want the driver.
As I understand it, the question is, that hplip is not installed by default, but here Q4os tried, added it to the Q4OS Software Center.

Offline

#45 2021-07-09 06:40

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

I also tried to install Gemini 64 bits into Virtualbox 6 on a Win10 x64 host (i5 processor with VT-x) and I have got a kernel panic error at the very beginning (before seeing any dialog).
I'm not far from giving up sad

Last edited by hchiper (2021-07-09 06:41)


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#46 2021-07-11 09:03

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

@hchiper
We will check that out and post back.

Offline

#47 2021-07-11 12:57

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,211
Website

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

@hchiper
We are not able to reproduce kernel panic. Windows 10 host, Virtualbox 6.1.22, virtual machine Debian 64bit, 2GB RAM, install media q4os-4.5-x64-testing.r2.iso.
Installation as well as post install steps goes just fine. What desktop profile did you choose on installation ?

Have anyone else encountered kernel panic as described above ?

Offline

#48 2021-07-11 20:25

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 47

Re: Q4OS 4.5 Gemini

I have to apologize, because I tried to install Gemini q4os-4.5-x64-testing.r2.iso into VirtualBox 5.2, not 6.
On the other hand I could install q4os-4.5-i386-instcd-testing.r2.iso into 5.2 and run it successfully.
I'm not skilled enough to understand why I'm able to install only the 32 bits version.

Unluckily, the authentication error I reported was not solved with this new version. Anyway I'll follow the updates.


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB