You are not logged in.

#26 2017-11-22 12:02

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,882
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

@Dai_trying
Thanks, we are now able to reproduce the issue, if point TB to '/usr/lib/firefox/firefox' to open links. If TB is configured to open links by '/usr/bin/firefox', it works well. We will check for a possible fix and post here as soon as available.

Offline

#27 2017-11-22 12:53

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 299

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

#24 above seems to have fixed it. Changed from "firefox - default" to /usr/bin/firefox.

Thanks Q4osteam!!

Last edited by JimW (2017-11-22 12:55)

Offline

#28 2017-11-22 13:36

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,882
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

We have uploaded a patched Firefox version into repositories, it should improve things definitely. You only need to update your system:
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Offline

#29 2017-11-22 16:08

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,333
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

After installing the updates I ran into problems with Thunderbird, it would not open links ( no console feedback or error messages) when I tried to close the application the window closed and I thought it had shutdown, but noticed increased CPU usage. I tried to reboot the machine but it seemed to be stuck in a loop closing thunderbird (3/4 and then 4/5) and it kept fluctuating between 3,4 out of 4,5 and it looked like as each instance of thunderbird was closed it started a new instance, I checked this after I finally managed to reboot (I had to force a shutdown with power button +6 seconds) and on the command line if I try to access a web page it does nothing (no browser opens) so I try to close thunderbird and the console gives the line

[calBackendLoader] Using Thunderbird's builtin libical backend

and this repeats every few seconds indefinitely, system needs to be forced shutdown to clear it.
I have now removed both Firefox and Thunderbird and am back to running them directly from unpacked tar.gz folder like i was originally and everything is working as it should and all webpages open in Firefox 57 (after setting it in Tde Components)

Offline

#30 2017-11-22 16:21

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,882
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Well, we need to investigate it and we will post a feedback as soon as some findings are available. Has anyone else noticed similar behavior of Thunderbird/Firefox57 in Q4OS ?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB