You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-20 10:04

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,993
Website

Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

We have compiled new installer for Firefox-57, it's available for amd64, i386 and arm64 architectures. Download installer from "Software downloads" section: https://www.q4os.org/downloads1.html

Offline

#2 2017-11-20 11:38

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,993
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

The Firefox-57 from Q4OS repositories is also available for all Debian Stretch users, you only need to add a dedicated repository and install Firefox, see instructions below.

First add Firefox repository in terminal:

echo 'deb http://q4os.org/qextrepo stretch-firefox-cn main' | sudo tee /etc/apt/sources.list.d/stretch-firefox.list

Add Q4OS keyring in terminal:

wget -nv -O- http://q4os.org/q4repo/q4a-q4os.gpg.pub | sudo apt-key add -

Install Firefox:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install firefox

In addition you are free to install a language pack:

sudo apt-get install firefox-l10n-<language_code>

Offline

#3 2017-11-20 18:17

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Thanks for this as Firefox 57 is a huge step up versus any previous versions.

Offline

#4 2017-11-21 01:27

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Ok, I installed Firefox 57 following the above instructions. Seems to work great....except...
I have Thunderbird 52.4.0 and am now having problems with linking to the browser.

If I have Firefox 57 open and click on a link in Thunderbird I get the following:
"Firefox is already running, but is not responding. To open a new window, you must first close the existing Firefox process, or restart your system."
I have restarted my system without any help.

If I do not have Firefox running Thunderbird will open Firefox-esr and ask if I want to make it my default browser.

So, how do I tell Thunderbird that there is a new man in town?? smile

Last edited by JimW (2017-11-21 01:28)

Offline

#5 2017-11-21 01:44

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

I uninstalled Firefox ESR, then installed Firefox 57 and didnt have any issues.

Offline

#6 2017-11-21 02:58

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Maybe I should uninstall esr also and see if that helps!

Offline

#7 2017-11-21 06:55

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,393
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

You could try setting your default browser in Start -> Settings -> Control Centre -> TDE Components -> Default Applications -> Web Browser and in the Default Component section select in the following browser, then using the program locator (icon with three dots at right of input field) navigate to the preferred browser and click OK then click Apply and then OK and you should be all set.

Offline

#8 2017-11-21 14:16

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Ok, interesting game I'm playing here.

followed Dai's directions (which I had previously done, but had typed "firefox" instead of selecting it), this time I selected it.

If I open a terminal and type "firefox" then firefox 57 opens.
If I click on a link in thunderbird firefox-esr opens.

going to /etc and renaming firefox-esr, then clicking on a link in thunderbird firefox 52 opens!

renamed firefox-esr back to normal.

If I have firefox 57 open then thunderbird refuses to open a tab and insists that I shut down firefox.

Ain't Mozilla fun??

Offline

#9 2017-11-21 17:10

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,393
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

I'm still using PaleMoon as my primary browser and clicking a link in Thunderbird opens a new tab in PaleMoon as expected.
I will set default browser to Firefox and reboot and see what happens.
Ok, everything seems to be working as expected, I opened Firefox on an arbitrary page opened Thunderbird found a link in email and clicked it, Firefox opened another tab and loaded new page there.

I'm using Q4OS-Scorpion and Firefox 57.0 and Thunderbird 52.4.0(all 64 bit) what versions do you have?

Last edited by Dai_trying (2017-11-21 17:18)

Offline

#10 2017-11-21 19:19

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

I had to uninstall Firefox esr as I couldnt get it to work with Firefox 57 also installed.  Firefox 57 with Thunderbird 52.4

Offline

#11 2017-11-21 19:39

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

On mine I can run firefox-esr or firefox 57, but only one at a time. If I have firefox 57 running firefox-esr will complain if I try to start it.

So, it looks like I have firefox 57, firefox-esr, and firefox 52 all installed!!!!

Other than loosing all my settings/bookmarks/passwords I would just about purge all firefox's and start again! smile

Offline

#12 2017-11-21 20:45

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Correct as they would interfere with each other and Thunderbird wouldnt be able to access ESR with 57 running.  You should have Firefox 52.4 ESR installed and Firefox 57 .

All I did was remove Firefox 52.4 ESR and then install Firefox 57 and everything worked fine.

Offline

#13 2017-11-21 20:55

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Ok, I'll give it a shot. Will remove -esr and see what happens.

-----------------

Ok, firefox-esr removed. Reboot, start thunderbird, click on link, and.....nothing happens. Start firefox 57, click on link in thunderbird, and...nothing happens.

Ain't this fun??? smile

Last edited by JimW (2017-11-21 21:05)

Offline

#14 2017-11-21 21:50

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Im so use to removing things before installing other things from Windows, particularly drivers, aint it fun!

Offline

#15 2017-11-21 22:30

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Well, I found a "possible" work around. I would really rather have it work without resorting to this.

From a 2004 (I think) post -

create file - fftab
==================================================
#!/bin/sh
#
# This script allows external apps to open new URLs in Firefox
# or open a new instance of Firefox if it isn't already started
#
/usr/bin/firefox -a firefox -remote "openURL($@,new-tab)" ||
exec /usr/bin/firefox  "$@";
===================================================

. Add the following lines to your ~/.thunderbird/default/prefs.js file:
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.ftp", "fftab");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.http", "fftab");
user_pref("network.protocol-handler.app.https", "fftab");

=========================
don't know if it will work and hate to edit default files. IF (repeat) IF I try it I will make a backup of the prefs.js first!!

Offline

#16 2017-11-21 23:01

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

I dont maintain passwords,bookmarks or links so replacing a browser really has no effect, hope it works out for you but a lot of work for something like this.

Offline

#17 2017-11-22 00:04

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

That work around did not work. I think firefox cli commands have changed quite a bit since that was posted. I did finally get it to open a new firefox, but without the link included. (don't seem to have caused any damage)
I think I'm going to give up for a while and just copy/paste the links.

Thanks guys!

Offline

#18 2017-11-22 00:19

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Things have changed quite a bit since 2004, but I just copy/paste when I need to.  Dai might have some other suggestions but Firefox 57 is so different it may be part of the problem.

Offline

#19 2017-11-22 00:40

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,393
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

I can't figure out why it is running differently to my system... but in order to try and replicate or fix it could you let us know what your system is (32/64 bit) and any other (maybe) relevant info?

I'm sure there must be a solution to this because it is probably one of the more common usage scenarios and I would guess it might be a minor configuration option either not set or wrongly set.

Offline

#20 2017-11-22 00:46

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Could be the fact that it is Pale Moon versus having two Firefox browser installs. I have nothing to base that on and in my case I removed ESR so I never ran into the issue as FF 57 worked just fine.

Offline

#21 2017-11-22 00:47

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,993
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

@JimW

There is a new Firefox-57 update available, and it could solve the issue. First you need to update your system in terminal:
$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

Set Firefox as default browser:
$ sudo update-alternatives --set x-www-browser /usr/bin/firefox

Please report back, whether that helped.

Offline

#22 2017-11-22 01:42

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 309

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

Ok, did not help. Still the same.

Adding qreport if that will help.

in general -
I started with Scorpion 64 bit running firefox-esr. Clicking on a link in Thunderbird would either open the link in a new tab, if I had firefox running, or start firefox and open the link.
I installed firefox 57 following the above instructions, and it seemed to work fine. I had not removed firefox-esr at that time. However, Thunderbird would no longer open links if firefox 57 was running, it was trying to use firefox-esr. I changed the default browser to the newly installed firefox with no results. I then uninstalled (complete) firefox-esr via synaptic. Still no change in the results. I'm currently where I have to copy links from Thunderbird and paste them into firefox.


Attachments:
gz qreport.tar.gz, Size: 68.41 KiB, Downloads: 200

Offline

#23 2017-11-22 04:19

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

You set Firefox 57 in Thunderbird as the default browser after you uninstalled firefox esr and rebooted?

Offline

#24 2017-11-22 10:49

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,993
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

@JimW

You probably need to reconfigure associations in Thunderbird preferences. TB Menu > Preferences > Attachments tab > set 'Content type' 'http' and 'https' to '/usr/bin/firefox'. It works just fine here with Thunderbird 52.4 and Firefox 57, both installed from Q4OS software centre.

Offline

#25 2017-11-22 11:38

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,393
Website

Re: Firefox 57 for Q4OS Scorpion, as well as Debian Stretch, users

I just installed both Firefox (software centre) and Thunderbird (apt-get) to test this link opening and am getting this error on trying to open a link from email

XPCOMGlueLoad error for file /usr/lib/firefox/libxul.so:
libhunspell-1.6.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
Couldn't load XPCOM.

@ JimW
could you run Thunderbird from a terminal to see if you are getting any similar output when trying to open links?


Just to note I was previously running both Thunderbird and Firefox directly from the unpacked folder containing the downloaded tar.gz files from Mozilla site without this problem.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB