You are not logged in.

#1 2023-06-30 12:41

Germ
Member
From: Bushyhead, Oklahoma
Registered: 2023-06-30
Posts: 16

Q4OS 5 Upgrade

Will there be an upgrade path to Q4OS 5 after it is in stable release?

I'm using Q4OS 4 on one laptop and Q4OS 5 r3 on another laptop.

Thanks


Calm down, it's only ones and zeroes

Offline

#3 2023-06-30 17:54

Germ
Member
From: Bushyhead, Oklahoma
Registered: 2023-06-30
Posts: 16

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

Thank you!


Calm down, it's only ones and zeroes

Offline

#4 2023-07-03 04:56

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,807
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

Two of my Q4OS 4 installs upgraded to Aquarius and I didnt even know it. After a large update on Discover, when I rebooted and there Aquarius was and running without issues. Is this normal?


Q4OS Aquarius 5.1 KDE   Lenovo Thinkcentre M900 Tiny i5-6500T, 16gb ddr4 ram, 512gb m.2 ssd

Offline

#5 2023-07-03 09:39

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,343
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

crosscourt wrote:

After a large update on Discover, when I rebooted and there Aquarius was and running without issues. Is this normal?

Yes, it's possible.

EDIT: It's only possible, if you have repositories modified manually, what we have presumed as this topic is about upgrade.

Last edited by q4osteam (2023-07-03 18:57)

Offline

#6 2023-07-03 18:31

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,807
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

Whats also interesting is that two other Q4OS 4 installs didnt upgrade which is curious.


Q4OS Aquarius 5.1 KDE   Lenovo Thinkcentre M900 Tiny i5-6500T, 16gb ddr4 ram, 512gb m.2 ssd

Offline

#7 2023-07-03 18:43

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,343
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

q4osteam wrote:

Yes, it's possible.

It's only possible, if you have repositories modified manually, what we have presumed as this topic is about upgrade.

Offline

#8 2023-07-03 19:12

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,343
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

@crosscourt
Maybe you have installed some software, that takes care about the major distribution upgrades ?

Offline

#9 2023-07-03 23:18

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,807
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

Vanilla install with nothing but average apps, mostly from the software center. Thats what I find curious as only two of four exact same installs upgraded on their own.


Q4OS Aquarius 5.1 KDE   Lenovo Thinkcentre M900 Tiny i5-6500T, 16gb ddr4 ram, 512gb m.2 ssd

Offline

#10 2023-07-04 09:50

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,343
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

No clue about that, it could be worth to figure out what happened with the two installs. Unfortunately, we are not able to reproduce such weird automatic upgrade. You could provide the debug info file by "reportq4" as described here https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502 , so we can check it and maybe find some hints.

Offline

#11 2023-07-04 18:31

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,807
Website

Re: Q4OS 5 Upgrade

Unfortunately I used Foxclone to clone the two upgraded drives to the two that didnt so I doubt theres much to find.


Q4OS Aquarius 5.1 KDE   Lenovo Thinkcentre M900 Tiny i5-6500T, 16gb ddr4 ram, 512gb m.2 ssd

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB