You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-06 18:27

tw454
Member
Registered: 2022-03-06
Posts: 3

[Closed] install applications

Hi,
I went throgh the installation and ran the dektop profiler. I selected the basic package and XFCE as additional desktop environment. After the dektop had appeared, I tried to install more programs in the Software Centre from the welcome screen. But the Install button triggered this message:

"You have applied no dektop profile yet. (...) Please run Desktop Profiler tool to choose and apply a profile."

My question is: is there a way to fix this, or a different way to install more applications?

Thanks

installation: q4os-4.7-i386-instcd.r1

---
EDIT by Admin: This bug has been put at the official bug tracker https://sourceforge.net/p/q4os/tickets/179/

Last edited by q4osteam (2022-03-30 09:21)

Offline

#2 2022-03-06 19:15

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,644
Website

Re: [Closed] install applications

Please provide the debug info using "reportq4" command as described here https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502

Offline

#3 2022-03-06 19:31

tw454
Member
Registered: 2022-03-06
Posts: 3

Re: [Closed] install applications

installation: q4os-4.7-i386-instcd.r1
Desktop environment: Xfce
Desktop software profile: Basic
The issue occurs whenever I try to install applications from the Software Centre.

Offline

#4 2022-03-06 19:48

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,644
Website

Re: [Closed] install applications

We are now able to reproduce the issue. We will investigate and post back. Thanks for reproting.

EDIT:
Anyway, it's possible to use software centre from within Trinity or Plasma DE, but not from XFCE.

Last edited by q4osteam (2022-03-06 19:53)

Offline

#5 2022-03-06 20:02

tw454
Member
Registered: 2022-03-06
Posts: 3

Re: [Closed] install applications

Thanks for the reply!

Can I change desktop environments without reinstalling the OS?

Offline

#6 2022-03-06 20:25

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,644
Website

Re: [Closed] install applications

tw454 wrote:

Can I change desktop environments without reinstalling the OS?

Yes, just select desired desktop environment on the login screen.

Offline

#7 2022-03-07 11:40

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,644
Website

Re: [Closed] install applications

We have found the reason of this bug, it will be fixed in the next Q4OS release.

Offline

#8 2022-05-11 15:54

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,644
Website

Re: [Closed] install applications

Fixed in Q4OS 4.8 release, closing this bug report.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB