You are not logged in.

#1 2021-05-11 11:43

Djdols
Member
Registered: 2021-03-16
Posts: 9

[SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

So I deleted the swap partition and edited the /etc/fstab file already to remove the line with swap. But the problem is, q4os still waits for 90 seconds on boot. Is there any way to fix this?

Last edited by Djdols (2021-05-11 12:06)

Offline

#2 2021-05-11 12:05

Djdols
Member
Registered: 2021-03-16
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

nvm guys i fixed it, turns out /etc/default/grub has a line GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT with the parameter of resume="someUIID" in which that UIID i believe is the partition that i removed. So i just removed that line

Offline

#3 2021-05-11 19:54

aluma
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 106

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

Everything is clear here, except for one thing, why remove swap?
If Linux runs out of memory, it will simply stop.

Offline

#4 2021-05-12 12:43

Midas
Member
Registered: 2017-12-15
Posts: 90

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

You can always swap from a file, can't you?

https://linuxize.com/post/create-a-linux-swap-file/

Offline

#5 2021-05-12 12:55

aluma
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 106

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

A swap partition, mounted on the peripheral of the hard drive will run faster, than just a file, written in the middle of the drive.
In addition, fragmentation of the latter is possible.

Last edited by aluma (2021-05-12 12:56)

Offline

#6 2021-05-13 05:42

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 994

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

aluma wrote:

A swap partition, mounted on the peripheral of the hard drive will run faster, than just a file, written in the middle of the drive.
In addition, fragmentation of the latter is possible.

......if it is a very old spinner. SSD doesn't make any difference.

Offline

#7 2021-05-13 14:24

Tolkem
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 268

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

Also, with 8+ GB of RAM, unless you do intensive computing, the swap is rarely ever used, if at all. My desktop has 4 GB and a 2 GB swap partition, but it almost never use it.

Offline

#8 2021-05-13 19:39

aluma
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 106

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

bin wrote:

...if it is a very old spinner...

The principle of operation and the distribution curve of the read / write speed are the same for old and modern hard drives.
Another question is how critical this segment is, relative to the speed of other computer devices.

Offline

#9 2021-05-13 19:55

aluma
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2018-03-12
Posts: 106

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

Tolkem wrote:

Also, with 8+ GB of RAM, unless you do intensive computing, the swap is rarely ever used, if at all. My desktop has 4 GB and a 2 GB swap partition, but it almost never use it.

My 4RAM computers also run with an empty swap.
But I can give you a more specific example.

2 GB RAM,  Q4os 32bit, full default installation.
Disconnected the second hard drive, forgetting that I installed swap on it myself.
Everything worked, but on the 4th facebook tab, Firefox stopped.
This is what I wanted to draw the attention of Q4os users.

And to have a swap and in what form is the owner's task.
"I want" and "can my device" is different for everyone. smile

Offline

#10 2021-05-14 06:05

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 994

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

aluma wrote:

Everything worked, but on the 4th facebook tab, Firefox stopped.

Can't say i blame it - I wouldn't get past one tab.

Last edited by bin (2021-05-14 06:05)

Offline

#11 2021-05-14 12:55

Tolkem
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 268

Re: [SOLVED] 90 seconds boot problem

aluma wrote:
Tolkem wrote:

Also, with 8+ GB of RAM, unless you do intensive computing, the swap is rarely ever used, if at all. My desktop has 4 GB and a 2 GB swap partition, but it almost never use it.

My 4RAM computers also run with an empty swap.
But I can give you a more specific example.

2 GB RAM,  Q4os 32bit, full default installation.
Disconnected the second hard drive, forgetting that I installed swap on it myself.
Everything worked, but on the 4th facebook tab, Firefox stopped.
This is what I wanted to draw the attention of Q4os users.

And to have a swap and in what form is the owner's task.
"I want" and "can my device" is different for everyone. smile

Yes, you're right, and that's exactly why I said with 8+ GB of RAM, depending on what you do in your PC, a swap partition may or may not be needed.  Maybe OP's machine has 64 GB of RAM, we don't know, he didn't tell, and that's why he removed the swap.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB