You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-03 14:28

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

A new updated image of the Q4OS Centaurus testing live media is available for download https://www.q4os.org/downloads2.html , now in version "3.5". A bunch of new important features has been implemented, the same as for the Q4OS 2.7 Scorpion, please read https://www.q4os.org/blog.html#news181231 . Apart from that, there are fixes and security patches included and packages dependencies has been fixed.

Offline

#2 2019-01-03 15:15

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 89

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Thumbs up!

Doing good so far!! wink

Thank you for the hard work!


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 8 Gb RAM.

Offline

#3 2019-01-11 13:03

lucbertz
Member
Registered: 2017-11-24
Posts: 11

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Thank you for the very good work. I found a light and professional environment, as usual. cool
Once I loved the material icon set you used, but now it is used everywhere, so now it annoys me. I will install another one, I think.

Will you publish also a 32 bit release?

Offline

#4 2019-02-01 00:04

detoo
Member
Registered: 2019-01-17
Posts: 12

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Will you publish also a 32 bit release?

Q4OS Team answered that over here.

Offline

#5 2019-02-01 11:48

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Yes, we can confirm the 32bit Centaurus release will be available later.

Offline

#6 2019-02-08 18:20

ydek
Member
From: Brasil
Registered: 2018-06-11
Posts: 6

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Hello everyone, also testing Q4OS Centaurus 3.5 in VirtualBox.
Installation was fast easy, lasted 15 minutes.
It is working very well and with the correct updates.

Last edited by ydek (2019-02-08 18:33)

Offline

#7 2019-02-10 19:48

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Q4OS 3.5 Centaurus installation media has been updated, release ".r2". It features a new screen scaling tool. Download the updated image from the testing releases https://www.q4os.org/downloads2.html page.

Offline

#8 2019-02-11 09:54

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,550
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

I am preparing for a new Centaurus install so this is great timing for me, thank you and I will report any issues. smile

Offline

#9 2019-02-12 22:18

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,550
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

I really like this new installer it looks great!

I just wanted to note a few things I have found from this installation, none of which are a real problem but just things I noticed that are either different/missing/ambiguous.

1. Local keyboard not autodetected from installer

2. Localisation not autodetected from installer

3. In the Summary it stated "Set up fat32 partition /dev/sda2 with mount point /boot/efi" which is sort of correct but it reads like it might format the partition and therefore lose my other boot options, this obviously did not happen and everything ran smoothly but I was concerned and almost stopped the installation to check.

4. There was no mention of swap partition on Summary page and it was not re-formatted (to my relief) although still used

5. This being a laptop I expected tdepowersave-trinity to be installed without relying on a profile installation but it wasn't.

The installation ran smoothly and everything else appears correctly configured and working as expected, Thanks guys, great work! and a thank you to @Jaerrib for the good work with the icon-set they look great too.

Offline

#10 2019-02-13 14:27

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

We will go through all the suggestions and possibly fix them as soon as possible. Thanks for the helpful reporting.

Offline

#11 2019-02-13 14:49

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,550
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

You're welcome and I love the installer splash screen looks really good. smile

Offline

#12 2019-02-21 09:13

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 652

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Just to add to Dai's point about the keyboard - on installation the keyboard was selected as 105 key intl but on first boot it shows as 104 key.

I'm pretty sure this has carried forward from earlier versions but it looked like a good opportunity to mention it.

Offline

#13 2019-02-27 15:29

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Q4OS 3.5 Centaurus with Plasma desktop by default is now ready for download from the official testing releases downloads site https://www.q4os.org/downloads2.html . Centaurus Trinity desktop installation media have been updated, and the new ".r3" image is available for download from Sourceforge testing repository https://sourceforge.net/projects/q4os/files/testing/ , file "q4os-3.5-x64-tde.r3.iso"

Offline

#14 2019-02-27 16:39

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,550
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Does this mean Plasma will now become the default desktop for Q4OS from Centaurus?

Offline

#15 2019-02-27 17:20

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

We want to provide the primary download Plasma + Trinity iso for amd64-64bit architecture - the same as for Scorpion. There will be also pure Trinity installation media available for amd64-64bit/i386-32bit, as well as some hardware specific images for RaspberryPi / armhf and Pine64 / arm64 hardware.

Offline

#16 2019-03-24 12:08

jotapesse
Member
From: Algarve, Portugal
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 38

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Hello! Thank you for Q4OS, I'm coming from Debian Testing Xfce and SparkyLinux Testing Xfce, and I'm really enjoying what seems a well built Q4OS Debian derivative distro and the Trinity desktop. I really appreciate the effort put on the details and the overall quality of it. Good job!

Regarding Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, I look forward the Calamares install with Full Disk Encryption. I tried it on a Virtualbox install but it failed with grub not finding the device, both TDE and Plasma ISOs. Is this Virtualbox related or will it fail on real hardware?

error: no such device: <UUID>
error: unknown filesystem.
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue> _

Also, I look forward the x86 (32bit) version of it. Any chance you release soon a current testing 32bit ISO?


jotapesse - Obrigado / Thank you.

Offline

#17 2019-03-24 17:26

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

We will check the disk encryption issue and post here as some info available. Yes, 32bit Q4OS Centaurus iso should be available in a few months.

Offline

#18 2019-03-24 17:33

jotapesse
Member
From: Algarve, Portugal
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 38

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

q4osteam wrote:

We will check the disk encryption issue and post here as some info available. Yes, 32bit Q4OS Centaurus iso should be available in a few months.

Thanks. I guess you're referring to the final release of Q4OS 32bit, but I was asking for a current testing 32bit ISO. Please. smile

Last edited by jotapesse (2019-03-24 17:35)


jotapesse - Obrigado / Thank you.

Offline

#19 2019-03-25 17:31

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

An update to the Q4OS Centaurus installation media has been made recently, new revision ".r4". You can download from here https://sourceforge.net/projects/q4os/files/testing/
"q4os-3.5-x64.r4.iso" ... Plasma live media
"q4os-3.5-x64-tde.r4.iso" ... Trinity live media

There is a new Calamares installer version included, so some issues should be resolved. A few more testing would be appreciated.

Dai_trying wrote:

Local keyboard not autodetected from installer

Most likely not a Q4OS specific issue, a most correct way would be to test that within a plain Debian and possibly report to the upstream developers.

Dai_trying wrote:

Localisation not autodetected from installer

Should be fixed now.

Dai_trying wrote:

In the Summary it stated "Set up fat32 partition /dev/sda2 with mount point /boot/efi" which is sort of correct but it reads like it might format the partition and therefore lose my other boot options, this obviously did not happen and everything ran smoothly but I was concerned and almost stopped the installation to check.

Not a Q4OS specific issue, a most correct way would be to test that within a plain Debian and possibly report to the upstream developers.

Dai_trying wrote:

There was no mention of swap partition on Summary page and it was not re-formatted (to my relief) although still used

Not a Q4OS specific issue, a most correct way would be to test that within a plain Debian and possibly report to the upstream developers.

Dai_trying wrote:

This being a laptop I expected tdepowersave-trinity to be installed without relying on a profile installation but it wasn't.

Should be fixed, however we would appreciate a testing, if possible.

bin wrote:

Just to add to Dai's point about the keyboard - on installation the keyboard was selected as 105 key intl but on first boot it shows as 104 key.

It's now fixed in both, Centaurus as well as Scorpion.

Offline

#20 2019-03-25 17:54

jotapesse
Member
From: Algarve, Portugal
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 38

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

q4osteam wrote:

An update to the Q4OS Centaurus installation media has been made recently, new revision ".r4". You can download from here https://sourceforge.net/projects/q4os/files/testing/
"q4os-3.5-x64-tde.r4.iso" ... Plasma live media
"q4os-3.5-x64.r4.iso" ... Trinity live media

There is a new Calamares installer version included, so some issues should be resolved. A few more testing would be appreciated.

Sorry, not resolved yet. Tried it again on Virtualbox, same issue with Full Disk Encryption: sad

error: no such device: <UUID>
error: unknown filesystem.
Entering rescue mode...
grub rescue> _

jotapesse - Obrigado / Thank you.

Offline

#21 2019-03-25 17:58

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Yes, we can confirm encryption still doesn't work, at least for some systems. This bug is targeted for a next Centaurus release.

Offline

#22 2019-03-28 22:16

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

jotapesse wrote:

Regarding Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, I look forward the Calamares install with Full Disk Encryption. I tried it on a Virtualbox install but it failed with grub not finding the device, both TDE and Plasma ISOs.

After a quite thorough investigation, we can  definitely say, it's upstream Calamares bug already reported here: https://github.com/calamares/calamares/issues/1099 . You are welcome to post your findings at the Calamares issue tracker.

Offline

#23 2019-03-29 00:03

jotapesse
Member
From: Algarve, Portugal
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 38

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Thank you so much. I've read it and it seems the current scenario is, please correct me if I'm wrong (see references below):

1. Calamares uses cryptsetup to encrypt;
2. Cryptsetup (currently version 2.1.0 on Debian testing) defaults to LUKS2;
3. GRUB currently only suppports LUKS1 and no other bootloader supports LUKS2 yet;
4. From the former, full-disk encryption with current Calamares/cryptsetup will always fail!

Solutions or workarounds:

a. Wait for GRUB to support LUKS2, if and when it will support it;
b. Explicitly use LUKS1 for /boot encryption (on Calamares?) with option "--type luks1" (the partition that GRUB loads/decrypts);
c. Replace Debian's cryptsetup by a custom built version with option "--with-default-luks-format=LUKS1" to default to LUKS1.

https://gitlab.com/cryptsetup/cryptsetu … leaseNotes
https://github.com/calamares/calamares/issues/1096
https://github.com/calamares/calamares/issues/1099
https://savannah.gnu.org/bugs/?55093

So (a.) isn't desirable and I don't know how easy it is to workaround Calamares with (b.). Perhaps the current best approach will be (c.) to Q4OS build and hold a custom cryptsetup package built with option "--with-default-luks-format=LUKS1", until (a.) or (b.) are resolved.

What do you guys think?

Last edited by jotapesse (2019-03-29 09:36)


jotapesse - Obrigado / Thank you.

Offline

#24 2019-03-29 01:09

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,209
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

@jotapesse
Yes, your post is technically exact, Grub in combination with LUKS2 is unusable at the moment in general. We will try to use the (c.) solution for the live media. The (b.) is much more complicated. Anyway, the best, most clean, is (a.), indeed.
We believe a working cryptsetup could be released within the next Q4OS live media revision.

Offline

#25 2019-03-29 09:28

jotapesse
Member
From: Algarve, Portugal
Registered: 2019-03-23
Posts: 38

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.5, testing

Thank you! smile Looking forward it.

Last edited by jotapesse (2019-03-29 09:29)


jotapesse - Obrigado / Thank you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB