You are not logged in.

#1 2017-09-03 14:57

Mr.Mark
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 67

Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Well it's that time. The iMac is outdated. Can I put Q4OS on this iMac? Has it been done before?

Offline

#2 2017-09-03 16:42

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Im assuming youre iMac is using PowerPC?  Debian 8 which Q4OS 1.87 is based on does support PowerPC, so I see no reason why Q4OS couldnt be installed.

I havent seen any posts in the past but there are probably some guides online based on Debian installs for iMacs.
Heres a support page for installing Debian on iMac which may help,

https://wiki.debian.org/InstallingDebianOn/Apple

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-09-03 19:27)

Offline

#3 2017-09-03 18:24

Mr.Mark
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 67

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

It is an Intel based iMac. About 10 years old.

Offline

#4 2017-09-03 18:29

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Shouldnt have any issues with an  Intel based iMac as Intel cpus are fully supported.

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-09-03 19:28)

Offline

#5 2017-09-03 19:18

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,324
Website

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Mr.Mark wrote:

The iMac is outdated. Can I put Q4OS on this iMac? Has it been done before?

As Q4OS is Debian based, you are looking for directions for Debian. Following links could be helpful:
https://wiki.debian.org/InstallingDebianOn/Apple
https://wiki.debian.org/iMacIntel

Offline

#6 2017-09-03 23:48

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,535
Website

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

I don't have any mac experience but I found a couple of Debian forum posts that might be useful...

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? … 4&#p596507

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? … hilit=imac

Offline

#7 2017-09-04 02:29

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Heres a more generalized article,  www.macworld.co.uk/how-to/mac/how-install-on-mac-3637265/

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-09-04 05:02)

Offline

#8 2017-09-09 19:56

Mr.Mark
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 67

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Alternatively is there someplace I can buy one with Q4OS already installed?

Offline

#9 2017-09-09 20:26

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,535
Website

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

I'm not aware of any machines with Q4OS pre-installed, if you are looking to buy a new machine to use with Q4OS then simply buy a laptop (even a second-hand one) and then install Q4OS onto it. This install will be a lot less troublesome compared to trying to install onto a mac.

Offline

#10 2017-09-10 02:42

Mr.Mark
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 67

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

I was thinking about taking one for the team here. I was going to buy another iMac and see if I can successfully install Q4OS. Is it worth a try?

Offline

#11 2017-09-10 03:18

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

I wouldnt bother as youll find running a normal laptop a lot easier and performance at least in my experience is far better(easier to upgrade as well). Most Mac users arent looking to use Linux so the interest side in regards to Q4OS is really low.

Id go used and try to get something within three generations of present hardware and install Q4OS.

Offline

#12 2017-09-10 14:14

Mr.Mark
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 67

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Oh well. As a long time Apple fan/user I found that I don't really care for the newer offerings and really depend on Q4OS now. I guess I can get a desktop PC piece of Windows trash and put Q4OS on that. That would be fine. That's doable right?

Offline

#13 2017-09-10 16:10

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,535
Website

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Very doable smile

Offline

#14 2017-09-11 00:41

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

LoL!  pcs arent trash just different hardware. Its Windows thats trash.

Offline

#15 2017-09-11 08:46

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,535
Website

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

crosscourt wrote:

LoL!  pcs arent trash just different hardware. Its Windows thats trash.

I think that was the intended reference big_smile

Offline

#16 2017-09-11 22:33

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Sorry, didnt come across that way to me.

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-09-11 22:36)

Offline

#17 2017-09-16 04:47

Mr.Mark
Member
Registered: 2016-02-03
Posts: 67

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Yes I was referring to Windows! Sorry I didn't notice this sooner!

Last edited by Mr.Mark (2017-09-16 04:48)

Offline

#18 2017-09-16 17:25

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

No problem.

Offline

#19 2017-09-16 19:30

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,535
Website

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

I figured if the machine was trash you wouldn't be buying it big_smile

Offline

#20 2017-09-16 19:59

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 593

Re: Q4OS On iMac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 3GB Memory

Not referring to Mark, but many Apple/Mac users hate pcs in general. Its moderated some since the old days but they prefer that ecosystem.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB