You are not logged in.

#26 2016-11-17 17:42

bin
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 384

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

Wow!

Yes I use the XPQ4OS themes as a starting point and then fiddle until I like the result.

I must admit I felt a bit like Alice going down the rabbit hole trying to work out what is stored where - xfce is soooo much easier smile

I'm not totally sure the catchall approach would be ideal - although I do understand why you'd want to adopt it - nightmare!!

Thinking about typical use cases here certainly the files you mention - in fact anything in the root of the user home that is not a TDE file would need to be excluded I'd have thought. Looking in my .config.....there are loads of application specifc folders with blahblahrc files. Now, most of these I would want to re-use on a reinstall, but having them reverting to a previous version if they've been updated after the last config backup could be awkward.

Reflecting on your comments and ideas, on balance I think that if there's a choice it is better to have a few items go awol as originally reported - and of no real consequence, just something I noticed - rather than creating something which requires too much user intervention or knowledge of what the files are.

What do you think - better to keep it simple?

Offline

#27 2016-11-17 18:28

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,594
Website

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

I'm happy to go with what works best really, I think the middle ground might be to have a config file containing a list of files that are outside the scope of general use but the user might want to include, that way the user can simply add the files to config and themebackup would read it and include the files (so long as they actually exist).
I'll work on this and post an update, or if you think of an alternative solution please post and I will see what I can do. smile

Offline

#28 2016-11-17 20:52

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,594
Website

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

Ok, Version 0.0.2-10 uses a config file aptly named config.file which is placed in ~/.config/daithemebackup/ with the backup files when the app is first run, it contains at the start just two files and more can be added at one file per line. I have put in some brief instructions for using the file which can be seen when viewing it.
Let me know if you think this is a better option. smile

Offline

#29 2016-11-18 08:22

bin
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 384

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

I think this is a very workable solution - thanks for your efforts! It may also encourage folks to get to grips with all those hidden but so useful bits and bobs smile

Offline

#30 2016-11-18 09:44

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,594
Website

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

You are welcome, I quite like this solution as you can add any files that you would like to have restored, I have included my conkies so that I will always have a backup of them too. smile

Offline

#31 2017-02-06 14:02

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,594
Website

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

I have modified the program a little by adding an "are you sure" option to resetting to default theme and will be working on giving the option to restore a backup from another user in the very near future, but for now the latest version 0.0.2-11 is available from the first post and my website

Thanks to Werner Holtfreter for the very useful feedback

Dai

Offline

#32 2017-07-30 19:27

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 715

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

Not sure how I missed this but the devs mentioned it in a support post and gave it a try. Very nice!


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Online

#33 2017-07-30 21:51

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,594
Website

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

I hope you find it useful, I certainly do. smile I have it set to run once only each day at startup ( I use a cron job to run a script to check if todays has been run already first.)

Offline

#34 2017-07-31 01:10

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 715

Re: Backing up your desktop settings

Its great as Ive been using it on my test system.


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB