You are not logged in.

#1 2024-04-23 14:08

FlexQ4
Member
Registered: 2017-02-19
Posts: 158

Mount an NTFS partition with shell command

q4os gemini is istalled here besides Windows and some other ntfs partitions.
In konqueror, under the node "Storage Media" all those partitions are correctly shown, with their label-name, e.g. "Data".
right-click on the Data-Item -> properties: shows the properties - for sda5.
Now. it's possible to mount that partition easily by: right-click -> mount. Fine!
But how can i achieve the same from the command line?

me@flex:~\> sudo mount -r /media/Data
mount: /media/Data: can't find in /etc/fstab.
me@flex:~\> sudo mount -r /media/sda5
mount: /media/sda5: can't find in /etc/fstab.

both do not work!

Offline

#2 2024-04-23 21:07

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 426

Re: Mount an NTFS partition with shell command

The minimal command is (using the parameters from your example)

$ sudo mount -t ntfs /dev/sda5 /media/Data

Note that the mount command has several options you might need to use to fit your needs (read-only, read-write, ...).
You can also have your partition mounted automatically, but you'll need first to sudo edit your /etc/fstab file (you didn't yet, whence the errors you got).
This is a vast question and I suggest you to read tutos available on the web.


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#3 2024-04-23 22:44

FlexQ4
Member
Registered: 2017-02-19
Posts: 158

Re: Mount an NTFS partition with shell command

Thanks hchiper,
this is nearly exactly what i tried some minutes ago, and it didn't work:

me@flex:~\> sudo mount -t ntfs -r /dev/sda5 /media/me/Data
ntfs-3g-mount: failed to access mountpoint /media/me/Data: file or directory not found

i chosed /media/me/Data because it's mounted there (like all other ntfs-partitions) when i mount it via konqueror.

Ironicallly, if i do mount /dev/sda5 (the Data-partition) via konqueror, guess what the mounting point is then:

me@flex:~\> mount -l
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
...
/dev/sda5 on /media/me/Data type fuseblk (ro,nosuid,nodev,noatime,user_id=0,group_id=0,default_permissions,allow_other,blksize=4096,uhelper=udisks2) [Data]

Exactly "/media/me/Data" - unbelievable!

Edit: And thanks again for the hint to "automatical mounting" - but first it should work the manual way wink

Last edited by FlexQ4 (2024-04-23 22:47)

Offline

#4 2024-04-24 08:39

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,343
Website

Re: Mount an NTFS partition with shell command

Just run in terminal:
$ mkdir /tmp/mountpoint/
$ sudo mount /dev/sda5 /tmp/mountpoint/

Offline

#5 2024-04-24 16:40

FlexQ4
Member
Registered: 2017-02-19
Posts: 158

Re: Mount an NTFS partition with shell command

Thank you @q4osteam, that way it's possible to mount it.
Now, unfortunately all my (audacious) playlists rely on paths like file:///media/me/Data/Music/..../xy.mp3  so i ask: why shouldn't one use /media/me/Data as mounting point - may here arise any conflicts with the system?
Thanks in advance!

Edit: mabe it has to do with some difference between system:/media/sda3/media/ and /media ...

Optimal would be the possibility to have a partition-Symbol on the desktop (like it is represented in system:/media) but i see no possibility to create such with: right-Click: Create New... Link to device...

Last edited by FlexQ4 (2024-04-24 17:17)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB