You are not logged in.

#26 2024-03-17 11:26

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,292
Website

Re: Hibernation?

dlrider wrote:

If the intention of the Desktop Profiler is to offer a "full featured desktop" then it should do what is expected with a modern OS -- hibernate and such. ...

We agree. We will target Desktop profiler to be the central Q4OS tool with much more capabilities then now. We will soon start boosting Desktop profiler development to make it more capable and bring new cool features. Unfortunately we don't have as much time as we would like because we are really busy at the moment.

Offline

#27 2024-03-17 15:46

dlrider
Member
Registered: 2024-02-26
Posts: 18

Re: Hibernation?

NoMoreWindows wrote:

I think this is very close to the mission statement that Q4OS has for itself and they are doing a good job in that regard.


(But now that it is apparently solved, I’ll try the stuff mentioned in this thread.)

Yes, I absolutely agree -- a remarkably excellent job in creating Q4OS.  I failed to mention that in my response; my apologies. 

Looking forward to hearing of your results.

Offline

#28 2024-03-17 15:59

dlrider
Member
Registered: 2024-02-26
Posts: 18

Re: Hibernation?

q4osteam wrote:
dlrider wrote:

If the intention of the Desktop Profiler is to offer a "full featured desktop" then it should do what is expected with a modern OS -- hibernate and such. ...

We agree. We will target Desktop profiler to be the central Q4OS tool with much more capabilities then now. We will soon start boosting Desktop profiler development to make it more capable and bring new cool features. Unfortunately we don't have as much time as we would like because we are really busy at the moment.

Thank you.  Understood. The team is doing phenomenal work.  I will wait patiently and know best not to rush artists.  I feel like the new Q4OS is significantly more performance improved over just a few years ago, or am I mixing up my memories with another OS?  In any case, I am enjoying using it and am thrilled to see it improve the lives of the older equipment I have.

Offline

#29 2024-03-17 21:14

NoMoreWindows
Member
Registered: 2024-01-03
Posts: 62

Re: Hibernation?

I’ve read the whole thread and the conclusion is it should work out of the box?

I then tried it on my main machine and surprise surprise… it works!
(Only condition seems to be used memory should fit in unused swap partition.)
I’ll try to get it working on my other machines too tomorrow.

Can someone summarize this thread and tell me (and thus every reader) what needs to be done when you want hibernation to work when installing Q4OS from scratch, if anything?
(Swap file or swap partition? What size? Any boxes to tick during installation? Running some script? And disable Secure Boot (which was already the case for me).)

Offline

#30 2024-03-17 22:47

seb3773
Member
Registered: 2023-11-01
Posts: 75

Re: Hibernation?

NoMoreWindows wrote:

I’ve read the whole thread and the conclusion is it should work out of the box?

I then tried it on my main machine and surprise surprise… it works!
(Only condition seems to be used memory should fit in unused swap partition.)
I’ll try to get it working on my other machines too tomorrow.

Can someone summarize this thread and tell me (and thus every reader) what needs to be done when you want hibernation to work when installing Q4OS from scratch, if anything?
(Swap file or swap partition? What size? Any boxes to tick during installation? Running some script? And disable Secure Boot (which was already the case for me).)


Well, first thing seems to be disabling secureboot tongue
Then, like I said, hibernation is working out of the box with q4os if you choose default install with swap partition. BUT, the 1Gb size setting (which is the default debian setting) is clearly debatable... It will work, as long as you don't have too much pages to hibernate and with RAM>1gb this is not certain. Plus, it's possible you encounter problems with kernel swapping pages with a swap this small (some programs tends to use swap, independently of ram available).

So, you have the possibility to resize the swap to something more realistic (for hibernation & kernel swapping) which is roughly the size of your ram. Or you can install without swap partition (just ignore the warning at install) and use, for example the script I provided, once install completed, to create and use a simple swap file. (which is at my opinion easier to manage than a partition, for example if you add more ram).

The script I provided installs and configure zram, which will be used for kernel swapping, and a swap file who will be used mainly for hibernation. Doesn't seem to be "required" but like I said it's good for performances:)

One more thing the script is doing is creating an override of systemd-suspend.service (in /etc/systemd/system/), which is modified to use "suspend-then-hibernate" instead of simply "suspend". This of course is not required at all, it's a 'trick' I use because I want my laptop to go to hibernation if it is suspended for more than 1h30 (because it uses too much power in suspend mode). So, I basically want every call to "suspend" to be in fact "suspend-then-hibernate" (I'm using xfce4-power-manager, and you don't have the option "suspend-then-hibernate" as a possible action, that's why I did that. Don't know about tdepowersave.)

Of course you can modify/adjust the script to your needs.

Last edited by seb3773 (2024-03-18 09:57)


My Q4OS scripts: win10/osx theming, perfs optimisation, laptop configuration, ...  for trinity users -->  https://github.com/seb3773/q4osXpack

Offline

#31 2024-03-18 09:45

NoMoreWindows
Member
Registered: 2024-01-03
Posts: 62

Re: Hibernation?

@seb3773

Thanks a lot!

I’m now motivated to learn and master hibernation on Q4OS under all circumstances using the tips you provide.

Main target is a 16GB laptop with many browsers open with many pages. Apart from that I’ll try a desktop PC, some virtual machines and our latest Q4OS toy, the Raspberry Pi 4.

I expect the 16GB machine to be slow with hibernation but I’ll post my findings here.
(I only tried it so far with a 4GB swap partition and used memory of about 2GB, so only one browser and LibreOffice Writer open to test hibernation.)

Offline

#32 2024-03-18 10:02

seb3773
Member
Registered: 2023-11-01
Posts: 75

Re: Hibernation?

NoMoreWindows wrote:

@seb3773

Thanks a lot!

I’m now motivated to learn and master hibernation on Q4OS under all circumstances using the tips you provide.

Main target is a 16GB laptop with many browsers open with many pages. Apart from that I’ll try a desktop PC, some virtual machines and our latest Q4OS toy, the Raspberry Pi 4.

I expect the 16GB machine to be slow with hibernation but I’ll post my findings here.
(I only tried it so far with a 4GB swap partition and used memory of about 2GB, so only one browser and LibreOffice Writer open to test hibernation.)

You're welcome smile Hibernation is working on every laptop I installed q4os so far, and pretty well (like I said very similar to windows hibernation). Never tried on a desktop install, but I see no reason why it wouldn't work. For the rapsberry, I have some doubts, because like q4os team said, hibernation is hardware related too, and I don't think the pi4 was designed for this. But I will take a look smile

**I modified my precedent post, added some information about the suspend-then-hibernate trick used in the script (which is, like I said not necessary).


My Q4OS scripts: win10/osx theming, perfs optimisation, laptop configuration, ...  for trinity users -->  https://github.com/seb3773/q4osXpack

Offline

#33 2024-03-19 01:49

dlrider
Member
Registered: 2024-02-26
Posts: 18

Re: Hibernation?

seb3773 wrote:

One more thing the script is doing is creating an override of systemd-suspend.service (in /etc/systemd/system/), which is modified to use "suspend-then-hibernate" instead of simply "suspend". This of course is not required at all, it's a 'trick' I use because I want my laptop to go to hibernation if it is suspended for more than 1h30 (because it uses too much power in suspend mode). So, I basically want every call to "suspend" to be in fact "suspend-then-hibernate" (I'm using xfce4-power-manager, and you don't have the option "suspend-then-hibernate" as a possible action, that's why I did that. Don't know about tdepowersave.)

Of course you can modify/adjust the script to your needs.

Just to be clear, does the script override the settings page, and is always hibernate after suspend no matter if not checked in settings?  As attached shows.

However, I don't know what the period of inactivity that is referred to in the settings.  Yours is 90 minutes (5400 seconds).

Last edited by dlrider (2024-03-19 01:55)


Attachments:
png Screenshot_20240318_204446.png, Size: 59.9 KiB, Downloads: 28

Offline

#34 2024-03-19 09:07

seb3773
Member
Registered: 2023-11-01
Posts: 75

Re: Hibernation?

dlrider wrote:

Just to be clear, does the script override the settings page, and is always hibernate after suspend no matter if not checked in settings?  As attached shows.

However, I don't know what the period of inactivity that is referred to in the settings.  Yours is 90 minutes (5400 seconds).

I need to test it on plasma, but yes, I think it will override the setting in settings panel. Looking at the picture you send, it seems you don't need it in plasma (as you already have this option), so just delete /etc/systemd/system/systemd-suspend.service smile

Last edited by seb3773 (2024-03-19 09:08)


My Q4OS scripts: win10/osx theming, perfs optimisation, laptop configuration, ...  for trinity users -->  https://github.com/seb3773/q4osXpack

Offline

#35 2024-03-19 13:50

NoMoreWindows
Member
Registered: 2024-01-03
Posts: 62

Re: Hibernation?

Here’s the result of my attempts to get hibernation working on all of my machines:

Main PC laptop 16GB RAM

Works fine, I extended swap partition to 24GB. With a lot of used RAM it does take a while, but probably the same with Windows.

Desktop PC of the wife 8GB RAM (Secure Boot is disabled.)

While booting, I get error messages about “orphaned inodes” and hibernation does not restore my environment. It starts as if it was a normal boot.
I don’t want to change that system to make it work because I’m happy enough that the wife is happy with Linux and I don’t want to risk making her unhappy with it. She doesn’t want hibernation.

Virtual PC’s (VirtualBox)

Hibernation fails to close the virtual machine. Of course this is trivial since VirtualBox provides its own mechanism for hibernation (save machine state).

Raspberry Pi
As seb3733 expected, the feature is not available.

My conclusion, Debian/Q4OS has hibernation, but it is not always working out of the box.

Offline

#36 2024-03-19 15:25

seb3773
Member
Registered: 2023-11-01
Posts: 75

Re: Hibernation?

NoMoreWindows wrote:

While booting, I get error messages about “orphaned inodes” and hibernation does not restore my environment. It starts as if it was a normal boot.

One thing to check is the CMOS battery, is the date correct ? Because this can lead to this kind of behavior.

Another thing is to check if swap partition/swap file is properly defined in these files:
/etc/initramfs-tools/conf.d/resume
/etc/default/grub

( use blkid to find the UUID of your swap partition/swap file )

Maybe this can help.

Last edited by seb3773 (2024-03-19 15:27)


My Q4OS scripts: win10/osx theming, perfs optimisation, laptop configuration, ...  for trinity users -->  https://github.com/seb3773/q4osXpack

Offline

#37 2024-03-27 00:34

dlrider
Member
Registered: 2024-02-26
Posts: 18

Re: Hibernation?

Well...  it doesn't appear to be working well after all.  So now, many if not most times coming out of hibernation, the screen turns on but is blank and just stays that way.  No image, no login prompt, nothing.  Put it to sleep to see if it kicks it to the logon screen, but no cake there either.  So, I turned off hibernation for now

Offline

#38 2024-03-27 08:35

NoMoreWindows
Member
Registered: 2024-01-03
Posts: 62

Re: Hibernation?

On my laptop it is working reliably, but when there's more than a few GB of memory to save, it is so slow that I prefer complete shutdown. I only use it when I really want it. So I'm sticking to my statement from the beginning of this thread. For the regular user, hibernation just isn't there on Linux.

Offline

#39 2024-03-31 01:33

dlrider
Member
Registered: 2024-02-26
Posts: 18

Re: Hibernation?

I think it is more of the machine.  I found that I can't have it plugged in when restarting from hibernation, otherwise it powers off without starting the POST. Meaning, it has nothing to do with Q4OS (or Debian).  This doesn't happen from sleep or a previous shutdown.

Offline

#40 2024-03-31 21:12

seb3773
Member
Registered: 2023-11-01
Posts: 75

Re: Hibernation?

dlrider wrote:

I think it is more of the machine.

Yes, it's very dependant of the machine and the bios features. I have numerous examples where hibernation doesn't work properly on windows too. And a lot of Q4OS installs with hibernation working flawlessly... So, I don't think Q4OS nor Debian are to blame for this, and we can't do much more about it. One general observation though, it seems when it's working properly with windows, it should work with linux the same way. (means the bios implementation is ok for hibernation)


My Q4OS scripts: win10/osx theming, perfs optimisation, laptop configuration, ...  for trinity users -->  https://github.com/seb3773/q4osXpack

Offline

#41 2024-04-09 23:18

dlrider
Member
Registered: 2024-02-26
Posts: 18

Re: Hibernation?

dlrider wrote:

I think it is more of the machine.

[edit] Please disregard  roll Turned off the wake on power setting and it works from hibernation now.

Last edited by dlrider (2024-04-10 01:33)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB