You are not logged in.

#1 2023-07-25 16:46

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

[Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

My system information is here: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.ph … 004#p25004
Yesterday, I have left my laptop unplugged from AC power. It was running on battery without my presence for about 10 minutes. When i came back, I was amazed! The fan was spinning like crazy, but when I opened Htop, the CPU usage was 99%!!
The process, which consumed all CPU power was tdepowersave [tdeinit] (see attachment).
I have not changed any TDEPowersave settings. Everything was default. Thank God, I came back quickly. I'm afraid to leave my laptop running on battery only. With constant 99% CPU, it can be easily overheated!
Update:
Here is another video:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/112ccu_ … drive_link
The system becomes completely irresponsible to any keyboard or mouse key-presses.
At the end I got this window:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1151gTw … drive_link

Also, this man has similar bug like me.

---
Bug tracker entry: https://sourceforge.net/p/q4os/tickets/202/

Last edited by q4osteam (2023-09-16 12:59)


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#2 2023-07-30 13:25

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

We have found a quick workaround for this bug. You need to disable autodimm feature in Tdepowersave.
Right click on Tdepowersave icon in system tray > select Powersave scheme > Autodimm > uncheck to disable "Enable autodimm ..." option. Don't enable the dimm option for any power scheme.

-----
Reported at Trinity site: https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … issues/136

-----
What we've learned so far about this bug:

- It is hardware dependent as it only occurs on certain hardware.
- Not Q4OS specific as we can reliably reproduce it on pure Debian with Trinity desktop.
- Comes from the Trinity hardware compatibility library.
- A fix needs to be applied deep inside Trinity libraries, so it may affect Trinity desktop entirely.

-----
We are working more to resolve this bug in a clean way and post back here.

Last edited by q4osteam (2023-07-31 19:24)

Offline

#3 2023-07-30 23:06

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Thank you for starting to fix this bug.
But, personally, I have realized, that I do not need tdepowersave at all, because my Dell Latitude works mostly being plugged in to AC power. So I have purged tdepowersave and installed fdpowermon instead, just to display my battery status. But this is just a temporary workaround. This bug still needs to be fixed. The majority of people use their laptops as mobile devices, being power-supplied from battery.


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#4 2023-07-31 15:01

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

What we've learned so far about this bug:

- It is hardware dependent as it only occurs on certain hardware.
- Not Q4OS specific as we can reliably reproduce it on pure Debian with Trinity desktop.
- Comes from the Trinity hardware compatibility library.
- A fix needs to be applied deep inside Trinity libraries, so it may affect Trinity desktop entirely.

It would be helpful to report this bug for Trinity developers https://trinitydesktop.org/

Offline

#5 2023-07-31 18:47

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

q4osteam wrote:

It would be helpful to report this bug for Trinity developers https://trinitydesktop.org/

Done: https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … issues/136


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#6 2023-07-31 19:25

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Rademes wrote:

Done...

Thanks for reporting

Offline

#7 2023-08-20 18:32

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Dear Q4OS Team!
Together with one of the TDE Developers, MIchelleC, we have made some progress in solving this bug: https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … issues/136
The problem is, I have never built any Linux packages, so I am not sure, will I be able to build patched TDEPowersave correctly. Probably not. Unfortunately, now I do not have time to learn how to do it. I have a lot of another work to do.
So, we need your help. If he creates a patch, can you please build it an test the patched version?
https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … ment-30942

Last edited by Rademes (2023-08-20 18:37)


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#8 2023-08-20 20:40

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Yes, we can build a testing tdepowersave package based on a patch from TDE devs, however it could take some time. We can start some work as soon as the patch is available.

Offline

#9 2023-08-22 15:42

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Good day!
MichelleC has made a patched tdepowersave, which solves the 100% CPU load when autodimm is active. Can you test it please?
https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … ment-31008
https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … ment-31010


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#10 2023-08-24 10:18

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Yes, we will test these packages. First we need to get the hardware in question, so we can perform testing in two weeks.

Offline

#11 2023-09-04 14:06

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Rademes wrote:

MichelleC has made a patched tdepowersave, which solves the 100% CPU load when autodimm is active. Can you test it please?

We can confirm the patch seems to solve the issue on our testing hardware. A fix for Q4OS is underway.

Offline

#12 2023-09-05 17:26

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

That`s very good! Thank you Q4OSTeam! I think, you do not have to make your fix, because MichelleC has promised to include fixed version of TDEPowersave in next TDE R14.1.1 release.
https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … ment-31131
https://mirror.git.trinitydesktop.org/g … ment-31014

Last edited by Rademes (2023-09-05 17:27)


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#13 2023-09-05 17:32

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

Yes, we will wait for the official fix to be merged in TDE, then we will update Q4OS repositories with the new version. Anyway, thanks for the helpful reporting.

Offline

#14 2023-11-27 12:56

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [Closed] TDEPowersave loads CPU at 99%

This issue has been fixed in the Q4OS 5.4 release, closing the report.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB