You are not logged in.

#1 2023-07-25 15:34

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

[closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

Good day!
I have not written here for quite a long time.
Anyway, a week ago I have purchased used DELL Latitude E5450 laptop for 200 EUR and installed Q4OS 5.2.1-n1 Aquarius TDE on it.

Distribution: Q4OS 5.2.1-n1 Aquarius, based on Debian Bookworm
ISO file: q4os-5.2-x64-tde.r1.iso (md5sum: 2d0350c9e5042aba0c8b5d76713cde5f)
TDE version: Trinity R14.1.1
Hardware: DELL Latitude E5450, Intel Core i5-5300U
https://i.postimg.cc/V6BkYq20/System-information-1.png
https://i.postimg.cc/Fzrs1fQW/System-information-2.png

I will use Google drive, because there will be many screenshots and some video files too.

Now to the problem (there will be two problems).
First. I have set up a single US (American) keyboard layout.
My keyboard settings are here:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/15CTEtP … drive_link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/143J7vB … drive_link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BSWHfU … drive_link
As you can see, I have set up a Flag as keyboard layout indicator, and also I have chosen an option to show keyboard layout indicator, even if there is only one keyboard layout.
The problem is, after every reboot, the keyboard layout indicator is not shown. Instead i see only empty square:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1indrZC … drive_link

Second. Next day, I have set up two keyboard layouts: Latvian (because I live in Latvia) and Russian. Latvian keyboard layout is the first in the list, so it is the main keyboard layout. But now, after every reboot the system shows me Russian keyboard indicator every time, but, when I open kwrite and start typing, it types Latvian characters. It does not matter, which keyboard indicator I choose, Flag or Label.
Please watch videos in 720p quality setting:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1mgecdi … drive_link
https://drive.google.com/file/d/18GQe8i … drive_link
I have not had these problems neither on Centaurus, nor on Gemini. This is only happens on Q4OS Aquarius.

I was unable to find a workaround to this bug. Hope, it will be fixed soon.

Last edited by Rademes (2023-08-16 15:50)


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#2 2023-08-01 17:07

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

Added to the official bug tracker https://sourceforge.net/p/q4os/tickets/208/

What iso file did you install Q4OS from ?
What language did you choose upon Q4OS installation ?

Last edited by q4osteam (2023-09-17 12:52)

Offline

#3 2023-08-02 15:50

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

ISO file: q4os-5.2-x64-tde.r1.iso (md5sum: 2d0350c9e5042aba0c8b5d76713cde5f)
Language upon installation: Russian
Regional settings: Latvian (Latvia)


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#4 2023-09-16 13:09

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

We have investigated these issues, but we were not able to reproduce them on Q4OS nor Debian12/Trinity-14.1.1 so far.
- Clean installation q4os-5.2-x64-tde.r2.iso in Virtualbox.
- Select Russian language, Riga timezone, US(american) keyboard upon Q4OS installation.
- Followed instructions from the original post.

The flag for american keyboard has been displayed properly. Switching and configuring keyboard layouts worked as expected. We will investigate more and post back as any new info becomes available.

Offline

#5 2023-09-17 10:55

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

Please post the "$HOME/.trinity/share/config/kxkbrc" file for us to check it.

Offline

#6 2023-09-17 17:54

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

valentina@latitudee5450:~$ cat /home/valentina/.trinity/share/config/kxkbrc
[Layout]
BgTransparent=false
ColorBackground=160,160,164
ColorLabel=255,255,255
ColorShadow=0,0,0
DisplayNames=
EnableXkbOptions=false
LabelFont=Liberation Mono,12,-1,5,75,0,0,0,0,0
LabelShadow=true
LayoutList=lv(apostrophe),ru
Model=latitude
Options=grp:alt_space_toggle
ResetOldOptions=true
ShowFlag=true
ShowLabel=false
ShowSingle=true
StickySwitching=false
StickySwitchingDepth=2
SwitchMode=Global
Use=true
UseThemeColors=true
valentina@latitudee5450:~$


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#7 2023-09-17 20:40

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

The file "kxkbrc" works well on our testing system. Please post "/etc/default/keyboard" as well.

Offline

#8 2023-09-18 18:21

Rademes
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 637

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

I do not know, what exactly happened, but yesterday, after changing Kxkb settings during research, the keyboard layout indicator started to work normally as it should work. I can not reproduce this bug anymore...


valentina@latitudee5450:~$ cat /etc/default/keyboard
# KEYBOARD CONFIGURATION FILE

# Consult the keyboard(5) manual page.

XKBMODEL="latitude"
XKBLAYOUT="us,lv"
XKBVARIANT="apostrophe"
XKBOPTIONS="grp:alt_space_toggle"

BACKSPACE="guess"
valentina@latitudee5450:~$

Last edited by Rademes (2023-09-18 18:22)


Before asking for help please read this topic: https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=3502   If you have problems with WiFi network, try to install the Network Manager using Q4OS Software Centre.

Offline

#9 2023-09-19 10:08

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

Rademes wrote:

.., after changing Kxkb settings during research, the keyboard layout indicator started to work normally as it should work. I can not reproduce this bug anymore...

We were never able to replicate this issue. We would guess, it may be connected to the keyboard shortcuts somehow. If you have any new findings, please post it here.

Offline

#10 2023-10-18 11:53

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,351
Website

Re: [closed] Problems with keyboard layouts

We consider this report as resolved, so we mark it "closed". Feel free to reopen it in case of need.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB