You are not logged in.

#1 2021-09-20 23:54

acrizona
Member
From: arizona
Registered: 2021-09-20
Posts: 7

First install

Where is the install instructions ?   
I have  Q4OS 3.14 R5 32bit  CD. 
It boots with 1 choice: INSTALL.     3 hours later,,, install is done + remove CD + GRUB boots to some ttyDOS  ???? 
Now what ?

Offline

#2 2021-09-22 11:12

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 178

Re: First install

Maybe your computer is short of RAM.

The minimal hardware requirements:
Plasma desktop - 1GHz CPU / 1GB RAM / 5GB disk
Trinity desktop - 300MHz CPU / 128MB RAM / 3GB disk

Can you describe your hardware (CPU, RAM, HD/SSD, Internet connection) and what desktop you have installed (Plasma or TDE/Trinity)?


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#3 2021-09-22 19:45

acrizona
Member
From: arizona
Registered: 2021-09-20
Posts: 7

Re: First install

HP Pavilion N3250 laptop, built in the last century !     Was running Puppy using 10BaseT, but no drivers for new WiFi card. 
I installed Sllitaz using old pcmcia WiFi. Works fine,  Old folks happily use Thunderbird eMail. Old FireFox is too s-l--o-w !   
When I down-loaded Q4, and booted the CD, first noticed that Q4 is install ONLY (no demo like all others).
Where would I find  what desktop "I installed" ?

Whats Q4 best lightweight browser ?

Offline

#4 2021-09-23 07:26

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 178

Re: First install

CPU speed?
RAM size?
HD (no SSD) I presume? This can partly explain why install take so much time.
And if some stuff was downloaded during install, the 10baseT connection (ie 10 Mbits/s) can also partly explain the duration.

I believe that only Trinity / TDE is available with Q4OS 32 bits version (last link on the downlaod page).

Check if your hardware fulfills the minimum requirements (see my previous reply).

I presume the problem is there. In this case you might consider upgrading your system (RAM, SSD, if avaiable) if you consider it is worth to do.


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#5 2021-09-23 13:01

Tolkem
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 485

Re: First install

acrizona wrote:

Where is the install instructions ?   
I have  Q4OS 3.14 R5 32bit  CD. 
It boots with 1 choice: INSTALL.     3 hours later,,, install is done + remove CD + GRUB boots to some ttyDOS  ???? 
Now what ?

That one is a bit old, I suggest trying this one instead https://sourceforge.net/projects/q4os/f … o/download which is the latest release. Or if the word testing seems a bit scary to you, wait till Sep 27 when stable gets released. However, I've been using testing for some months now with no issues, though the 64-bit one.

Hope this helps! smile

Offline

#6 2022-09-17 20:38

acrizona
Member
From: arizona
Registered: 2021-09-20
Posts: 7

Re: First install

Finally !    q4os-3.14-i386-install.r5.iso    onto Compaq Presario 2100 512m AMD 'clunker'. 
Q4/Konqueror/Trinity suits old laptop(s) perfect !

I have six old machines waiting on suitable OS.    This is the best to-date.
We can finally toss the 50 other old LinuxII   (plural?)  CD distros.     

Thank you & kudos to this forum !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB