You are not logged in.

#1 2020-02-16 22:04

Clint Burtwood
Member
Registered: 2020-02-16
Posts: 16

Yarock

Would it be possible to add Yarock to your repos? It's the only musicplayer on linux that can handle very large collections and displays them as a grid with album covers. As it's Qt5, it would be a perfect addition to the KDE spin of Centaurus.

Offline

#2 2020-02-18 14:03

Clint Burtwood
Member
Registered: 2020-02-16
Posts: 16

Re: Yarock

No? ..well could someone explain in extremely simple, extremely clear English the exact steps how to build from source to a complete dork like me, because the so-called easy steps on the official Yarock install page are like some futuristic space-hieroglyphs to me. I understand exactly ZERO about every word on that page. Yes, I am that dumb. I want a big button that says INSTALL YAROCK, and when I click it ..it installs Yarock.
Thank you.

Offline

#3 2020-02-19 20:42

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 391

Re: Yarock

Yeah, so there is no "1-click" solution to packaging it.  It must (ok, should, you could TRY adding the PPA, but IMO, PPA's on Debian = bad news)be built from the source code, which I can't think of any easier way to explain how to do so than those instructions on the page.  However, the fact that they jump between os's is confusing, so to remove the non-relevant stuff:

sudo apt install sudo apt install build-essential cmake libqjson-dev libtag1-dev qtbase5-private-dev qtbase5-dev-tools qttools5-dev-tools qttools5-dev libqt5x11extras5-dev libhtmlcxx-dev libphonon4qt5-dev libvlc-dev
cd <wherever the sources are>
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make
sudo make install

Note, I haven't actually tested if this works on q4os, or anything, for that matter.  Just reposing their instructions removing the steps for multiple OS's being interwined.

edit - nevermind about the .deb file, no such thing on the ppa, only sources.

Last edited by tlmiller76 (2020-02-19 22:58)


Q4OS machine - Chuwi GemiBook Pro.  Celeron J4125, 16GB LPDDR4, 1TB m.2 SATA SSD, Intel AX200 Wifi6 + BT 5.0, 2160x1440 14" LCD

Offline

#4 2020-02-19 21:04

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 391

Re: Yarock

So just for S's & G's I went ahead and built this on my work computer (KDE Neon) using mpv instead of VLC as the backend (w/ phonon enabled).

Screenshot-20200219-130414.png


Q4OS machine - Chuwi GemiBook Pro.  Celeron J4125, 16GB LPDDR4, 1TB m.2 SATA SSD, Intel AX200 Wifi6 + BT 5.0, 2160x1440 14" LCD

Offline

#5 2020-02-19 23:19

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 391

Re: Yarock

So, if you want a "one click" try this:

https://1drv.ms/u/s!Aj-NAHwsLZp2h3SddOI … Z?e=bNPeb5

It's built on a debian 10 buster VM with all the default options.  SHOULD pull in the required dependencies assuming you are running the KDE Plasma 5 version.  Probably will install but fail to launch on the trinity version.


Q4OS machine - Chuwi GemiBook Pro.  Celeron J4125, 16GB LPDDR4, 1TB m.2 SATA SSD, Intel AX200 Wifi6 + BT 5.0, 2160x1440 14" LCD

Offline

#6 2020-02-21 14:16

Clint Burtwood
Member
Registered: 2020-02-16
Posts: 16

Re: Yarock

Heeey thanks a lot! smile

..so now I got Yarock installed, can I uninstall any of that cmake qtbase blaa blaaa stuff? Or will Yarock get FUNKY if I remove any of that? I would ASSUME I should keep the vlc, phonon and mpv stuff..

Offline

#7 2020-02-22 01:08

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 391

Re: Yarock

You talking about

build-essential cmake libqjson-dev libtag1-dev qtbase5-private-dev qtbase5-dev-tools qttools5-dev-tools qttools5-dev libqt5x11extras5-dev libhtmlcxx-dev libphonon4qt5-dev libvlc-dev

?

If so, then yes, you don't need any of that installed anymore after yarock is installed unless you want to build software from source.


Q4OS machine - Chuwi GemiBook Pro.  Celeron J4125, 16GB LPDDR4, 1TB m.2 SATA SSD, Intel AX200 Wifi6 + BT 5.0, 2160x1440 14" LCD

Offline

#8 2020-02-22 10:02

Clint Burtwood
Member
Registered: 2020-02-16
Posts: 16

Re: Yarock

...aaaaand after removing all that stuff, Yarock doesn't start smile Somebody please kick me in the face.

My initial wish for Yarock to be included in the repo still stands.

Blehhh.

Offline

#9 2020-02-22 15:54

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,258
Website

Re: Yarock

You can download Yarock for Q4OS installer "setup_q4os-yarock_0.0.1-a1_amd64.esh" from here https://sourceforge.net/projects/q4os/f … erimental/

Offline

#10 2020-02-25 08:55

Clint Burtwood
Member
Registered: 2020-02-16
Posts: 16

Re: Yarock

THANK YOU Q4OS TEAM! That's just what the doctor ordered. smile smile

Any chance of doing the same with qview? It's an amazingly fast, simple and unobtrusive image viewer. Supports lots of filetypes, has an uncluttered interface and is actively maintained.

Offline

#11 2020-02-25 09:21

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,258
Website

Re: Yarock

They have released the .deb file https://github.com/jurplel/qView/releas … _amd64.deb , so you only need to download it and install in terminal:
$ sudo apt update
$ sudo apt install /path-to-the-downloaded-file/qview_3.0-2_amd64.deb

All Qview releases:
https://github.com/jurplel/qView/releases

Offline

#12 2021-09-09 22:31

Clint Burtwood
Member
Registered: 2020-02-16
Posts: 16

Re: Yarock

Hey again!

Any chance of getting a Yarock for Q4OS installer for 32-bit Trinity Centaurus..?

Offline

#13 2021-09-14 08:15

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 54

Re: Yarock

Clint Burtwood wrote:

Any chance of doing the same with qview? It's an amazingly fast, simple and unobtrusive image viewer. Supports lots of filetypes, has an uncluttered interface and is actively maintained.

I gave qview a try and I want now to switch it to french. I have downloaded qview_fr.ts but I have no idea on how to use it. I wasn't able to find any instruction even after having googled for hours. Do you know how to do?
I am using Plasma.

Edit
I could find the e-mail of Benjamin O. (jurplel), qView developper, and ask him the question. Here is his answer:

Unfortunately, qView 4.0 has no translation support whatsoever. That feature is meant to be released with 5.0 (which has been a long time coming because I have transferred to a much harder university and am now lacking pretty much any free time). You can use a nightly build like this one: https://dev.azure.com/jurplel/qView/_bu … dArtifacts for now.

Last edited by hchiper (2021-09-15 08:45)


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB