You are not logged in.

#1 2021-07-18 10:57

NeilIves
Member
Registered: 2021-07-18
Posts: 7

SSID not found

Hi folks. I'm new to any Linux OS.

I installed Q4OS on my old Samsung Netbook NC10 yesterday. I was then able to access the Internet wirelessly and downloaded and installed the Arduino IDE. Today I am not able to connect the netbook to my hub. I've brought the netbook closer to the hub but that made no difference. The failure to connect message says, 'SSID not found'.
Are you able to help me please?
Many thanks.

Offline

#2 2021-07-19 02:07

Tolkem
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 318

Re: SSID not found

Which Q4OS version did you install? Centaurus with TDE or Plasma? Gemini with TDE or Plasma?

Offline

#3 2021-07-19 14:00

NeilIves
Member
Registered: 2021-07-18
Posts: 7

Re: SSID not found

Tolkem wrote:

Which Q4OS version did you install? Centaurus with TDE or Plasma? Gemini with TDE or Plasma?

I just downloaded a 32bit version. How can I identify which version I have?

Offline

#4 2021-07-19 14:06

NeilIves
Member
Registered: 2021-07-18
Posts: 7

Re: SSID not found

Tolkem wrote:

Which Q4OS version did you install? Centaurus with TDE or Plasma? Gemini with TDE or Plasma?


This OS appears to be built on Trinity. Does that help to identify it?

Offline

#5 2021-07-19 14:40

NeilIves
Member
Registered: 2021-07-18
Posts: 7

Re: SSID not found

I'm writing this on my Netbook. I tried a LAN cable to a WiFi extender. That works but I'd like to be able to use the onboard WiFi.

Offline

#6 2021-07-19 14:50

NeilIves
Member
Registered: 2021-07-18
Posts: 7

Re: SSID not found

I have just done a cold restart without the LAN cable and I still have internet on my Netbook! smile Me is happy.

Last edited by NeilIves (2021-07-19 14:51)

Offline

#7 2021-07-19 14:53

NeilIves
Member
Registered: 2021-07-18
Posts: 7

Re: SSID not found

Tolkem wrote:

Which Q4OS version did you install? Centaurus with TDE or Plasma? Gemini with TDE or Plasma?

Thanks for replying. I appear to have sorted the problem. See my other posts.

Offline

#8 2021-07-20 14:52

Tolkem
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 318

Re: SSID not found

NeilIves wrote:
Tolkem wrote:

Which Q4OS version did you install? Centaurus with TDE or Plasma? Gemini with TDE or Plasma?

Thanks for replying. I appear to have sorted the problem. See my other posts.

Glad you sorted it out, and sorry for the late reply. To find out which is your current version of Q4OS and Debian, you can:
1. Use inxi, just launch the terminal(konsole)and type

inxi -S

S stands for system. If inxi isn't installed, you can install it with

sudo apt-get install inxi

2. Launch konsole, and type

cat /etc/os-release

or

cat /etc/debian_version

or

hostnamectl

any of those will show which Debian version Q4OS is running on; Debian 10/Stable(Buster/Q4OS 3 Centaurus) or Debian 11/Testing(Bullseye/Q4OS 4 Gemini). Remember to press Enter after typing the command. smile

Offline

#9 2021-07-20 15:30

NeilIves
Member
Registered: 2021-07-18
Posts: 7

Re: SSID not found

That's easy for you to say! Linux is new to me. smile

Anyway, I've achieved what I wanted at the moment; to be able to program Arduino on my Netbook. Thanks again.

Last edited by NeilIves (2021-07-20 15:31)

Offline

#10 2021-07-20 18:02

Tolkem
Member
Registered: 2019-10-06
Posts: 318

Re: SSID not found

NeilIves wrote:

That's easy for you to say! Linux is new to me. smile

Anyway, I've achieved what I wanted at the moment; to be able to program Arduino on my Netbook. Thanks again.

It isn't too difficult, check it out:

version.png

First, I used

inxi -Sxx

like I said before, S stands for system, the double x adds verbosity to the output. Then I checked with the other commands I posted before. Hope this makes things a bit clearer. smile

Last edited by Tolkem (2021-07-20 18:06)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB