You are not logged in.

#1 2018-08-10 10:12

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi Testing image has been released, based on Raspbian Stretch. Any kind of feedback would be highly appreciated, feel free to report here.

Known issues to be solved:
- Need to resize SD card space using 'raspi-config' tool after the first boot.
- Some installers from Software centre might not work correctly.


Download image 'q4os-2.5-rpi.testing.zip' from here:
https:// sourceforge.net/projects/q4os/files/testing/


Predefined login credentials:
username: pi
password: raspberry

Setup guide:
https://www.q4os.org/dqa010.html

EDIT: Now becomes stable, please see https://www.q4os.org/blog.html#news180813

Last edited by q4osteam (2018-08-12 15:03)

Offline

#2 2018-08-10 11:54

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,383
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

I have it installed on my aging Pi and although it is pretty slow (it is pretty old) it does seem to work as intended, no problems as yet although I do get an error box at startup ("the process for the file protocol died unexpectedly") but it does still function correctly after closing it, I think I had this same error with the previous version.

System Information:

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ inxi -F
System:    Host: raspberrypi Kernel: 4.14.52+ armv6l (32 bit) Console: tty 2
           Distro: Raspbian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   No /sys/class/dmi; using dmidecode: you must be root to run dmidecode
CPU:       Single core ARMv6-compatible rev 7 (v6l) (-UP-) (ARM) speed: 700 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Failed to Detect Video Card!
           Display Server: X.org 1.19.2 driver: N/A tty size: 140x25 Advanced Data: N/A out of X
Audio:     Card bcm2835 ALSA driver: bcm2835_alsa Sound: ALSA v: k4.14.52+
Network:   Card: Standard Microsystems SMSC9512/9514 Fast Ethernet Adapter
           IF: N/A state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: NA (-)
           ID-1: /dev/mmcblk0 model: N/A size: 15.9GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 15G used: 1.3G (10%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/root
           ID-2: /boot size: 43M used: 22M (52%) fs: vfat dev: /dev/mmcblk0p1
Sensors:   None detected - is lm-sensors installed and configured?
Info:      Processes: 95 Uptime: 21 min Memory: 55.3/179.9MB Init: systemd runlevel: 5
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.5 

Offline

#3 2018-08-10 12:23

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Thanks for the feedback The error message is known TDE bug https://bugs.trinitydesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=2552 , it shouldn't occur on newer, faster boards, for ex. RPi 3. The system function will not be affected by this bug, except the desktop icons will not be shown.

Offline

#4 2018-08-10 15:51

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,383
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Thanks guys, like you say it only seems to affect the desktop icons and I can live with that, it is only to be used for some IOT projects anyway. smile

Offline

#5 2018-08-12 14:49

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Q4OS Scorpion for RPi becomes stable now, please read https://www.q4os.org/blog.html#news180813

Offline

#6 2018-08-13 14:46

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Sorry, posted in my own discussion - maybe we should have a Raspberry Pi section?

Anyway am posting here from my RPi3b+ and only issue to report is that initial setup did not pick up my SSID - the box just empty?

Apart form that seem to be up and running nice and quick!


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#7 2018-08-13 16:00

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Still can't get Wi-Fi up and running. Have since set my locals to UTF8 GB / Keyboard / Time etc

The below seems odd no?

pi@raspberrypi:/etc/wpa_supplicant $ ifconfig wlan0

wlan0: flags=4163<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,MULTICAST>  mtu 1500
        inet 192.168.7.52  netmask 255.255.255.0  broadcast 192.168.7.255
        inet6 fe80::2d57:8d97:9ab7:188a  prefixlen 64  scopeid 0x20<link>
        ether b8:27:eb:e1:9f:72  txqueuelen 1000  (Ethernet)
        RX packets 18  bytes 3908 (3.8 KiB)
        RX errors 0  dropped 0  overruns 0  frame 0
        TX packets 240  bytes 39423 (38.4 KiB)
        TX errors 0  dropped 0 overruns 0  carrier 0  collisions 0

pi@raspberrypi:/etc/wpa_supplicant $ sudo ifup wlan0
ifup: unknown interface wlan0

Mod: feel free to move to support section

Last edited by cpcnw (2018-08-13 16:06)


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#8 2018-08-13 16:31

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Please try to connect a wifi network using "nmtui" tool, a simple NetworkManager text user interface. Just run it in terminal:
$ nmtui
try to make a connection and report back.

Offline

#9 2018-08-13 19:15

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

OK so I have added a wlan connection but when you go to the 'Activate' tab it doesn't show up?


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#10 2018-08-13 20:27

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Which way exactly did you add the wlan connection ?

Please logout from the gui, switch to the console "ctrl-alt-f1", login as 'pi' user, and run the 'nmtui' tool in terminal. Select "Activate a connection" option. Do you see Wi-Fi networks listed in the nmtui window ?

EDIT:
Also try to run following commands in terminal:

/opt/trinity/bin/kwriteconfig --file="/etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf" --group="device" --key="wifi.scan-rand-mac-address" "no"
chmod a+r /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf

Reboot and try to connect once again.

Last edited by q4osteam (2018-08-13 20:30)

Offline

#11 2018-08-13 20:31

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

pi@raspberrypi:~ $ nmcli dev wifi list
*  SSID  MODE  CHAN  RATE  SIGNAL  BARS  SECURITY
pi@raspberrypi:~ $ iwlist wlan0 scan
wlan0     Scan completed :
          Cell 01 - Address: C4:6E:1F:8B:F6:76
                    Channel:6
                    Frequency:2.437 GHz (Channel 6)
                    Quality=66/70  Signal level=-44 dBm
                    Encryption key:on
                    ESSID:"Nexus-6"
                    Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
                              9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s
                    Bit Rates:24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s; 48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
                    Mode:Master
                    Extra:tsf=0000000000000000
                    Extra: Last beacon: 14763530ms ago
                    IE: Unknown: 00074E657875732D36
                    IE: Unknown: 010882848B960C121824
                    IE: Unknown: 030106
                    IE: Unknown: 050400010000
                    IE: Unknown: 2A0100
                    IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: 32043048606C
                    IE: Unknown: 2D1AEE111BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 3D16060D0400000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: WPA Version 1
                        Group Cipher : TKIP
                        Pairwise Ciphers (2) : CCMP TKIP
                        Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
                    IE: Unknown: DD180050F2020101830003A4000027A4000042435E0062322F00
                    IE: Unknown: DD0900037F01010000FF7F
                    IE: Unknown: DD3F0050F204104A00011010440001021047001000000000000010000000C46E1F8BF610103C000100104900140024E26002000101600000020001600100020001
                    IE: Unknown: 2D1AAC011BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 331AAC011BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 3D16060D0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: 3416060D0000000000000000000000000000000000000000
                    IE: Unknown: DDA70050F204104A0001101044000102103B0001031047001000000000000010000000C46E1F8BF6101021000754502D4C494E4B1023000854442D573839383010240003312E301042000C4334364531463842463637361054000800060050F20400011011001F576972656C657373204475616C2042616E64204D6F64656D20526F75746572100800020086103C000100104900140024E26002000101600000020001600100020001

pi@raspberrypi:~ $


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#12 2018-08-13 20:33

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Also try to run following commands in terminal:

/opt/trinity/bin/kwriteconfig --file="/etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf" --group="device" --key="wifi.scan-rand-mac-address" "no"
chmod a+r /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf

Reboot and try to connect once again.

Offline

#13 2018-08-13 20:35

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

> Do you see Wi-Fi networks listed in the nmtui window ?

No, its the same as running in a window sad


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#14 2018-08-13 20:58

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

q4osteam wrote:

Also try to run following commands in terminal:

/opt/trinity/bin/kwriteconfig --file="/etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf" --group="device" --key="wifi.scan-rand-mac-address" "no"
chmod a+r /etc/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.conf

Reboot and try to connect once again.

Tried this and still no luck on Wi-Fi neutral

As an aside I can see the connection I created in nmtui come up when I click the tray icon. Still doesn't connect to it and no SSID's are listed when I go to scan for a new connection...


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#15 2018-08-13 21:03

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

One more attempt:

sudo ifconfig wlan0 up

Offline

#16 2018-08-13 21:29

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

No errors or anything just comes back to the prompt!

nmcli dev wifi list

is empty?


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#17 2018-08-13 21:30

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

What's the output of 'sudo journalctl --no-pager' ?

EDIT:
Maybe this link could be a hint https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/view … p?t=208591

Last edited by q4osteam (2018-08-13 21:32)

Offline

#18 2018-08-13 22:30

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Funnily enough I read that post first and tried adding country and network sections to  /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

I have just renamed that file to .old and rebooted - now I have a list of Wi-Fi points and can attempt to connect but it fails after a while with a message about 'secrets' not being available!!! So close...


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#19 2018-08-13 22:38

cpcnw
Member
From: Southport, UK
Registered: 2016-02-28
Posts: 151
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Crazy - I just tried connecting to my 5Gh and it worked?


We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#20 2018-10-15 11:05

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

A new updated Q4OS 2.6 Scorpion for Raspberry Pi image, file 'q4os-2.6-rpi.r3.zip', is now available for download from the downloads page https://q4os.org/downloads1.html . Fixes in sound system has been carried out, as well as improvements of the initial first login procedure and security updates and bug fixes.

Offline

#21 2018-10-15 11:40

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 304

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

q4osteam wrote:

A new updated Q4OS 2.6 Scorpion for Raspberry Pi image, file 'q4os-2.6-rpi.r3.zip', is now available for download from the downloads page https://q4os.org/downloads1.html . Fixes in sound system has been carried out, as well as improvements of the initial first login procedure and security updates and bug fixes.

I just installed r2 to an SD card while waiting for my PI. What is the easiest way to re-format the SD and install r3?

Offline

#22 2018-10-15 19:00

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

You don't need to reformat the SD card, the easiest way is just to copy the image file:
$ sudo cp q4os-2.6-rpi.r3.img /dev/sdX
sdX is the SD card device.

Offline

#23 2018-10-15 19:50

JimW
Member
Registered: 2015-12-08
Posts: 304

Re: Q4OS Scorpion 2.5 for Raspberry Pi

Ok, I'll give that a try. I noticed that all instructions stated (or implied) to use a formatted SD card. I didn't know it would overwrite!
Still got a couple of weeks before I get my PI (it's at my sisters house, about 300 miles away) and I told her to just hold it and bring it down when she comes to visit. Waiting for the 3 amp USB adapter anyway! smile

edit:
Yep. It worked I now have r3 instead of r2 ready for the PI when I get it!

Thanks Q4OSteam!

Last edited by JimW (2018-10-15 23:09)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB