You are not logged in.

#1 2018-09-21 19:09

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,922
Website

Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

A new updated image of the Q4OS Centaurus 3.4 testing live media has been just released.

The most significant changes:
- Switched to Calamares installer
- New Trinity version 14.0.6
- Removed Q4OS-2 Scorpion stable dependencies
- Secure boot improvements
- + others

Release notes:
https://www.q4os.org/blog.html#news180922

Offline

#2 2018-09-22 03:47

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

Maybe Trinity works well, but KDE side did not for me.
Too many crashes (LibreOffice and more).
Was well pleased with new looks etc., but had to revert back.


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#3 2018-09-23 06:16

DorianDotSlash
Member
Registered: 2018-09-12
Posts: 31

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

Damn, I never saw this till now... I just uploaded an updated review on 3.3 earlier today...

Does this apply the 2.6 R2 ISO fixes from WRT some EFI systems not detecting the USB?

danielson wrote:

Maybe Trinity works well, but KDE side did not for me.
Too many crashes (LibreOffice and more).
Was well pleased with new looks etc., but had to revert back.

Had you previously installed 3.3 and did you have crashes then?  I've had no problems with 3.3 on hardware other than a few glitches with bumblebee/Optimus drivers.

Last edited by DorianDotSlash (2018-09-23 06:17)

Offline

#4 2018-09-23 09:02

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,922
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

DorianDotSlash wrote:

Does this apply the 2.6 R2 ISO fixes from WRT some EFI systems not detecting the USB?

Yes, it does.


danielson wrote:

Too many crashes (LibreOffice and more).

We can confirm LibreOffice crashes in testing version in TDE as well as in Plasma. Does LO work fine for somebody within Centaurus 3.4 ?

Offline

#5 2018-09-23 09:57

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,922
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

q4osteam wrote:

We can confirm LibreOffice crashes in testing version in TDE as well as in Plasma.

After a short investigation, we have located the issue in the 'libreoffice-gtk3' package. If you don't want to wait for an official fix, a quick workaround would be to remove this package:
$ sudo apt remove libreoffice-gtk3

Offline

#6 2018-09-24 13:59

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

Other issues:

Aisleriot would crash much in same manner as LibreOffice via tentative to titlebar menu.
Also tried to un-install Aisleriot via Discover and it wouldn't happen.
Aisleriot continued to be "operative" even if it was no longer visible in Discover.


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#7 2018-09-24 16:11

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,922
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

@danielson
Well, the issue should be fixed now, you only need to update your system, so run in terminal:
$ sudo apt update
$ sudo apt dist-upgrade

Offline

#8 2018-09-24 19:44

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

By George you're good! smile

If repairs go on this fast, i won't mind being a tester for sure!


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#9 2018-09-25 04:53

DorianDotSlash
Member
Registered: 2018-09-12
Posts: 31

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

I've been running the same 3.3 version all along.  I've had several updates, and I can only assume the base packages will have taken care of everything to bring me up to the equivalent of a 3.4 fresh install.

No issues here.  Been running mainly Plasma.  Bumblebee still working.  No issues with LibreOffice here.

Everything great so far!

Offline

#10 2018-09-25 14:01

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

@DorianDotSlash - i'm happy for you!

Not sure if this is related to latest update, but even with profile setup, Q4OS 3.4rc doesn't save my default monitor setup at boot.


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#11 2018-09-25 14:43

DorianDotSlash
Member
Registered: 2018-09-12
Posts: 31

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

danielson wrote:

@DorianDotSlash - i'm happy for you!

Not sure if this is related to latest update, but even with profile setup, Q4OS 3.4rc doesn't save my default monitor setup at boot.

What exactly do you mean by "default monitor setup"?

Offline

#12 2018-09-25 14:55

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

Have an external monitor setup as default (while keeping laptop one on).


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#13 2018-09-26 02:48

DorianDotSlash
Member
Registered: 2018-09-12
Posts: 31

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

I use my laptop with a monitor through the HDMI port, and I find KDE remembers which is the main monitor, but applications seem to always want to open on the external monitor for some reason.  I finally set "active monitor follows mouse" and it fixed most things.  But glxgears seems to always want to open on the external monitor.  So I made a window rule specifically for it.

Offline

#14 2018-09-26 03:14

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

I'm not that good at window rules yet.

Stable did not have this issue.
Not a huge one, but still an annoyance.


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#15 2018-10-12 10:12

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,922
Website

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

Q4OS 3.4 Centaurus testing installation image has been updated, revision '.r3', see changes below:
- Improved secure boot support
- Enhanced installation process using the Calamares installer, improved localization.
- Bug fixes, security fixes and packages updates
- Based on Trinity 14.0.6 and the most recent Debian Buster version, Linux kernel 4.18

You can download from the testing releases page - https://www.q4os.org/downloads2.html

Offline

#16 2018-10-12 18:56

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

@DorianDotSlash - seeing that there's no way to p.m. you... if you still follow this thread, can you send screenshot of your "active monitor follows mouse" setting? (Even this latest Centaurus RC fails to remember default monitor setup).


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#17 2018-10-14 02:26

DorianDotSlash
Member
Registered: 2018-09-12
Posts: 31

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

danielson wrote:

@DorianDotSlash - seeing that there's no way to p.m. you... if you still follow this thread, can you send screenshot of your "active monitor follows mouse" setting? (Even this latest Centaurus RC fails to remember default monitor setup).

This option isn't in KDE 5.13.5.

I set glxgears manually since it would not remember it.  System settings > Window Management > Window Rules

Then create a new rule.  For example, I did one for glxgears.  Give it a name, and then at the bottom set

Window Title : Substring Match : glxgears

Then the Size and Position tab:

Screen : Force : 1

Offline

#18 2018-10-14 02:31

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 44

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

@DorianDotSlash - thanks!
In that case, it will probably be best for me to stick to present stable.


HP EliteBook 8460p - KDE - Intel i5-2520M CPU@2.5Ghz - 15.6 Gb RAM.

Offline

#19 2018-10-14 05:59

DorianDotSlash
Member
Registered: 2018-09-12
Posts: 31

Re: Q4OS Centaurus 3.4, testing

danielson wrote:

@DorianDotSlash - thanks!
In that case, it will probably be best for me to stick to present stable.

Well the steps I gave work fine.  If you leave the Window Title textbox empty, then every single window will open in whatever screen you choose no matter what.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB