You are not logged in.

#51 2017-12-04 17:25

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Thanks, Dai
I'll give it a go,and let you know how it works.

Offline

#52 2017-12-04 23:18

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,138

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Firefox 57 Quantum is simply the fastest browser Ive ever tested and its far faster than Chrome.

Glad you got your system running Capt, smile


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Offline

#53 2017-12-05 02:20

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Thanks,CC
I'm glad to have it functional also. Now, to ask all a question. What would you recommend for a good all in one printer(scanner) that works well with Q4OS. I know there has been discussion on this before,but new ones come out all the time. I was recently pointed toward Brother printers & scanners. Let me know your thoughts.

Offline

#54 2017-12-05 02:25

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,138

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Im an HP guy and have always favored HP with my use of Linux. I wont recommend  a specific model, as you may want to research your own choices.  Im sure others will chime in but given the great support for HP Ive not had any issues.


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Offline

#55 2017-12-05 10:24

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,798
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

I have found Brother and Epson to be pretty good and have heard Cannon are too but haven't owned one, but I would search the user forums for the model you are going to purchase first as some models seem to be supported better than others.

Offline

#56 2017-12-05 11:07

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,494
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

CaptNoize wrote:

What would you recommend for a good all in one printer(scanner) that works well with Q4OS.

We would recommend you to search for a Linux/Debian compatible printers, you could start for ex. here https://haydenjames.io/finding-linux-co … -printers/
of here https://www.openprinting.org/printers

Offline

#57 2017-12-05 14:28

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Thank you all, I will research it and let you know.

Offline

#58 2017-12-05 23:07

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,138

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

In terms of quality Canon printers are great, my wife has two of them she uses with Windows 7 but Ive not had success with them in Linux.


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Offline

#59 2017-12-06 16:07

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 183

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

IN terms of strictly supporting linux, HP & Brother are the best 2.  Samsung I've heard is also pretty good, but never owned one personally.  Epson has gotten better in recent years and now offers linux drivers for select models, but for a long time had no support for anything linux, and still only has support for a few models.


q4os machine:  Lenovo Thinkpad T430: Intel Core-i5 3360M/8 GB DDR3/480 GB ssd/Intel 6205 802.11N/14" 1600x900 LCD

Offline

#60 2017-12-06 16:31

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

I'm liking the HP All in One 1510 since it supports most of Linux OS's.... esp. Debian 8,9. I like to stick with all HP,since I have an old HP Deskjet 952C that works perfectly with Q4OS.

Offline

#61 2017-12-06 17:22

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 183

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Don't blame you, I've been sticking with HP printers for 15+ years due to their linux compatibility.  My primary concern when purchasing.


q4os machine:  Lenovo Thinkpad T430: Intel Core-i5 3360M/8 GB DDR3/480 GB ssd/Intel 6205 802.11N/14" 1600x900 LCD

Offline

#62 2017-12-06 23:06

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,138

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Ive got older HP printers and they continue to work well with Linux, along side my newer devices.


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Offline

#63 2017-12-10 23:10

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Dai,
I tried installing Slimjet the way you posted; however,terminal posted "could not find command". How would I type this command in to install Slimjet....?

Offline

#64 2017-12-10 23:33

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,798
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

There are some options here, first would be using dpkg (proven method), this command should work

sudo dpkg -i slimjet_i386.deb

I'm not sure the name of the file you are using, but adjust the filename (slimjet_i386.deb in the example) according to your file name. Then you will have to run

sudo apt-get -f install

This will finish the installation and include the missing dependencies (if there are any).

Offline

#65 2017-12-11 00:44

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,138

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Hows the system running Capt?


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Offline

#66 2017-12-11 01:11

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Thanks Dai...!
Excellent, CC..! I'm super impressed with Firefox 57..! This new Scorpion version seems to have all the bells and whistles, I just noticed the shortcut keys for functions. Perhaps I didn't notice it on Orion...this new Scorpion seems much more "user friendly"....by the way, I settled on the HP All In One 1510. It should be here tomorrow,I'll let you know how it syncs up with this computer. I am also impressed on how quickly this OS turns off...what a difference from Microslop....!

Offline

#67 2017-12-11 01:16

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,138

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Ive got a friend who has a HP 1510 running it on Linux Mint and he hasnt had any issues.

I agree Scorpion is more user friendly and turns off lightning fast.

Firefox 57 right now is the fastest full featured browser Ive tested, nothing comes close.

Glad the system is running well!  smile


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Offline

#68 2017-12-11 10:58

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,798
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

CaptNoize wrote:

Thanks Dai...!

You're welcome smile

Offline

#69 2017-12-12 00:00

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Dai,.
Your command line worked perfectly..! Thanks again..! I just got to figure out how to install a VueScan update; I tried the same install line,,to no avail. I'm trying to install VueScan(1).tgz it's an update they sent me,but it won't install...have any advice...? So, I got the HP 1510 printer in today. Set it up,hooked it up to my computer,and when I clicked on the printer icon, Q4OS had already found it,identified it,asked me if I wanted to add it,and was printing in minutes..!!! Take that MicroFlop..! I was reading reviews on this printer,and tons were negative because it was having problems syncing to Windblows 10. Not this for me...up and running within 8 minutes..! I then installed Kooka for the scanner. It works,but not as user friendly as VueScan..Vuescan is way easier to use.But, V.S. isn't free. So all things being equal...I guess it's ok. The printer prints good,and the copier is great. A good value for the price.

Last edited by CaptNoize (2017-12-12 03:39)

Offline

#70 2017-12-12 00:14

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,494
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

@CaptNoize
You could try to use 'Kooka' for scanning, please read https://www.q4os.org/dqa007.html#printer.3

Offline

#71 2017-12-12 00:28

crosscourt
Member
From: Wash DC
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,138

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

HP 1510 install is a breeze, glad its up and working.  HP support is simply the best in my opinion.


Q4OS Techogeezer  running Dell Optiplex 7010 MT- i5 3570 3.4ghz, 8gb ram, 500gb hard drive, Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

Offline

#72 2017-12-12 03:34

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Q4 team....I installed Kooka. It found the scanner. It opens Xsane  program to scan. Like I was saying, it's harder using that, than VueScan. It doesn't save the scanned document where it's easy to find. I tried it several times. It saves it to /home/my name/out. file location. Just a pain to use. Vuescan saves the scan right to my documents. Perhaps I'm making more of it than it is. I just want the process less complicated.

Offline

#73 2017-12-12 07:32

bin
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 434

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Vuescan is a simple binary - there is no install process.

You need either xarchiver or trinity-ark to open the .tgz file then extract the contents.

On my system I have the folder as the default Vuescan - in there I have a folder called previous version. Before unpacking an upgrade I move the current contents of Vuescan to that folder and then just extract the 4 new files to the original place. All the other information is stored in hidden/config files and folders so that's it.

Offline

#74 2017-12-12 09:48

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,798
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

@CaptNoize
Like bin said it is a simple binary, I just downloaded it to test and it will run after extracting the archive. You can create a desktop icon (right click desktop -> Create New -> Link to Application) or if you want a menu entry you can create a .desktop file and modify it to say where in the menu you want it to show and it should all work ok (may need to logout or reboot)
And it does look pretty easy to use so happy days ahead smile

And just a quick note regarding kooka, if you go to Settings -> Configure Kooka -> Image Saving and select Ask for filename when saving file you should be able to save file to preferred location. But that's probably irrelevant now as you should be able to use Vuescan without issue smile

Offline

#75 2017-12-12 14:38

CaptNoize
Member
From: Pgh,Pa.
Registered: 2015-12-09
Posts: 218
Website

Re: HP Pavilion a1710n

Thanks,everyone for all the information. I will try it in the following days,and let you know the results. I'm not real good with Ark. I need to find a tutorial on it.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB