You are not logged in.

#1 2017-11-14 15:34

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

I think this a bug. I have tried 2 times. When you click on the icon it leaves eg mail.
And you have have to reboot to clear it.

Offline

#2 2017-11-14 16:37

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Eric - don't forget that KDE uses URL as a term for a file location so it may not be doing what you think it should.

Please could you explain what it is you are trying to achieve - is it a desktop launcher of some sort or a link to a web page?

Offline

#3 2017-11-20 12:23

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

bin wrote:

Eric - don't forget that KDE uses URL as a term for a file location so it may not be doing what you think it should.

Please could you explain what it is you are trying to achieve - is it a desktop launcher of some sort or a link to a web page?

What trying to do was copy of what happens on all windows OS.
On  W10 if you right click on the desktop,you get a submenu if you go to new,create shortcut.
If you enter WWW.GMX.COM it creates a shortcut on the desktop.
If you double click on that,it brings up the internet page WWW.GMX.COM in your default browser
My internet email

Offline

#4 2017-11-20 20:32

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

You will need to enter the "http://" part at the beginning of the web address, so the address should read "http://www.gmx.com", the only problem you will have is that it will default to using konqueror. I'm not sure (ATM) how to change the default behavior but will have a look and post back here when I find out.

EDIT:
Ok that was easy. If you want to use a different browser to run links by default simply navigate to Start -> Settings -> Control Centre -> Default Applications -> Web Browser in the Default Component area select in the following browser: and then use the selection icon (three dots) to select the application you want to use. Click Apply and OK and your link should open in your browser of choice.

Last edited by Dai_trying (2017-11-20 20:43)

Offline

#5 2017-11-21 12:19

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Dai_trying wrote:

You will need to enter the "http://" part at the beginning of the web address, so the address should read "http://www.gmx.com", the only problem you will have is that it will default to using konqueror. I'm not sure (ATM) how to change the default behavior but will have a look and post back here when I find out.

EDIT:
Ok that was easy. If you want to use a different browser to run links by default simply navigate to Start -> Settings -> Control Centre -> Default Applications -> Web Browser in the Default Component area select in the following browser: and then use the selection icon (three dots) to select the application you want to use. Click Apply and OK and your link should open in your browser of choice.

I tried this ,and the result is the same.I have to reboot

Offline

#6 2017-11-21 13:36

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

A bit strange, it worked without issue here... A couple of questions...

1. What is your hardware? (output from inxi -F would be most helpful)

2. Have you enabled any outside repositories?

3. Are you running Orion (1.8.8) or Scorpion (2.4.1)?

EDIT:
Just thought of something else, did you create the link using right click and then selecting Create New -> Link To Location (URL)...?

Last edited by Dai_trying (2017-11-21 13:39)

Offline

#7 2017-11-21 21:52

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

That might be what he did Dai, right click looking at post #3

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-11-22 00:34)

Offline

#8 2017-11-22 00:32

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

#3 just says "create shortcut" and I wanted to confirm that the correct option "Link to Location (URL)..." was used and not "html file" or some other option.

Offline

#9 2017-11-22 00:36

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Im reading into it a bit but yes he didnt specifically say that.

Offline

#10 2017-11-22 00:40

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Yea, I just wanted to make sure smile

Offline

#11 2017-11-22 11:20

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Dai_trying wrote:

#3 just says "create shortcut" and I wanted to confirm that the correct option "Link to Location (URL)..." was used and not "html file" or some other option.

Yes it was link to location  URL

Offline

#12 2017-11-22 11:21

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Thanks for clearing that up smile any chance you could post answer to parts 1 and 2 of that post too.

Offline

#13 2017-11-22 11:25

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Dai_trying wrote:

A bit strange, it worked without issue here... A couple of questions...

1. What is your hardware? (output from inxi -F would be most helpful)

2. Have you enabled any outside repositories?

3. Are you running Orion (1.8.8) or Scorpion (2.4.1)?

EDIT:
Just thought of something else, did you create the link using right click and then selecting Create New -> Link To Location (URL)...?

I do not know to (output from inxi -F would be most helpful)

I am on Scorpion (2.4.1

Offline

#14 2017-11-22 11:50

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Eric wrote:

I do not know to (output from inxi -F would be most helpful)

You will probably need to install inxi first, this can be done through synaptic or this command in a terminal

sudo apt-get install inxi

After installation you can run this in a terminal

inxi -F

this will give output like mine below

dai@scorpion:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host: scorpion Kernel: 4.9.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: KDE Plasma 3
           Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   Device: portable System: Dell product: Inspiron 15-3552 v: 4.0.13
           Mobo: Dell model: 0T14MC v: A00 UEFI: Dell v: 4.0.13 date: 12/22/2016
Battery    BAT0: charge: 28.0 Wh 112.9% condition: 24.8/28.0 Wh (89%)
CPU:       Quad core Intel Pentium N3700 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 2400 MHz 1: 541 MHz 2: 559 MHz 3: 549 MHz 4: 646 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 405 (Braswell) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio:     Card Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-4-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: 94:53:30:3d:09:15
           Card-2: Atheros
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (26.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABF0 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 49G used: 8.4G (19%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0C mobo: 43.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A fan-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 158 Uptime: 14 min Memory: 518.0/3867.5MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.5 

As you can see this will give some useful information regarding your system to make things a little clearer.

Also have you added any other repositories to your software sources?

Offline

#15 2017-11-22 18:01

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Or you can tell us what make and model of laptop/desktop your using and we can use spec data to see what hardware components youre using.

For instance Dell latitude D430 or  Dell Inspiron 560.

There is also an app called Hardinfo you can install from Synaptic that also gives all the specifics of your system in an easy to read and access GUI.

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-11-22 18:02)

Offline

#16 2017-12-06 09:13

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

OK I installed and ran this .

But I do not see any output??

help


Dai_trying wrote:
Eric wrote:

I do not know to (output from inxi -F would be most helpful)

You will probably need to install inxi first, this can be done through synaptic or this command in a terminal

sudo apt-get install inxi

After installation you can run this in a terminal

inxi -F

this will give output like mine below

dai@scorpion:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host: scorpion Kernel: 4.9.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: KDE Plasma 3
           Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   Device: portable System: Dell product: Inspiron 15-3552 v: 4.0.13
           Mobo: Dell model: 0T14MC v: A00 UEFI: Dell v: 4.0.13 date: 12/22/2016
Battery    BAT0: charge: 28.0 Wh 112.9% condition: 24.8/28.0 Wh (89%)
CPU:       Quad core Intel Pentium N3700 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 2400 MHz 1: 541 MHz 2: 559 MHz 3: 549 MHz 4: 646 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 405 (Braswell) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio:     Card Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-4-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: 94:53:30:3d:09:15
           Card-2: Atheros
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (26.5% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABF0 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 49G used: 8.4G (19%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 44.0C mobo: 43.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A fan-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 158 Uptime: 14 min Memory: 518.0/3867.5MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.5 

As you can see this will give some useful information regarding your system to make things a little clearer.

Also have you added any other repositories to your software sources?

Offline

#17 2017-12-06 10:54

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Eric wrote:

OK I installed and ran this .

But I do not see any output??

I don't know how you "ran this" but if it was not in a terminal you would see no output, open a terminal (Konsole) and type the command inxi -F and you should see some output. If the output is not similar to the example I posted you should say what (exactly) you see in the terminal..

Offline

#18 2017-12-07 13:37

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

ying]

Eric wrote:

OK I installed and ran this .

But I do not see any output??

I don't know how you "ran this" but if it was not in a terminal you would see no output, open a terminal (Konsole) and type the command inxi -F and you should see some output. If the output is not similar to the example I posted you should say what (exactly) you see in the terminal..[/qu

Ok you were correct I was not using Konsole .I see output now,the problem I have  now is how to copy and paste the output to this forum.

help

Offline

#19 2017-12-07 16:16

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,212
Website

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Start by opening your browser and log in to the forum, then navigate to this page and select Post Reply (or use the quick reply box below) then type into the message box [ code ] (without the spaces) next open Konsole and type the command inxi -F and you will see the output, using your mouse select all the output and then right click in the Konsole window and select Copy and then in your browser you can right click in the reply box (in the forum) and select Paste, this should put the selected text in to the message, next type [ / code ] (again without the spaces) which will close the "code box" and now type in any other message you want and click submit when you are done.

Last edited by Dai_trying (2017-12-07 16:18)

Offline

#20 2018-01-31 12:23

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Sorry about the delay in replying .I don't use this computer very often.
I still cannot post the code.
I think the problem is in  using your mouse select all the output
But I could be wrong

and you will see the output, using your mouse select all the output and then right
click in the Konsole window and select Copy and then in your browser you can right
click in the reply box (in the forum) and select Paste, this should put the

Offline

#21 2018-01-31 14:42

jackdanielsesq
Member
From: Phuket
Registered: 2017-12-19
Posts: 119

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Eric

It might help if you told us what you are trying to achieve

Sounds like you are on a Windows machine, not 'Nix

Regards

Jack

Eric wrote:

Sorry about the delay in replying .I don't use this computer very often.
I still cannot post the code.
I think the problem is in  using your mouse select all the output
But I could be wrong

and you will see the output, using your mouse select all the output and then right
click in the Konsole window and select Copy and then in your browser you can right
click in the reply box (in the forum) and select Paste, this should put the

Offline

#22 2018-01-31 15:08

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

At the moment we're just trying to get the output of inxi -F copied from konsole and pasted in to a reply to this thread.

@Eric - if you want to create a desktop link to gmx.com then do the following:-

Desktop - Right Click> Create New>Link to Application.

The box that appears will have 4 tabs.

Tab 1 (General) will have a default name highlighted - Change that to My Email or whatever you want it to say

Tab 3 (Application) is where the magic happens. All you need to do is put in the command line box the command for your browser followed by "https://www.gmx.com"

For example if you use Firefox then it would be   firefox "https://www.gmx.com"

You can change the icon by clicking on the blue cog icon on the left of Tab 1 (General)

To edit the link you have created right click and go to Properties

Offline

#23 2018-02-01 13:11

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

I tried this.It says
When I click on the link it says TDEInit could not launch Palemoon
Could not find 'palemoon'executable


bin wrote:

At the moment we're just trying to get the output of inxi -F copied from konsole and pasted in to a reply to this thread.

@Eric - if you want to create a desktop link to gmx.com then do the following:-

Desktop - Right Click> Create New>Link to Application.

The box that appears will have 4 tabs.

Tab 1 (General) will have a default name highlighted - Change that to My Email or whatever you want it to say

Tab 3 (Application) is where the magic happens. All you need to do is put in the command line box the command for your browser followed by "https://www.gmx.com"

For example if you use Firefox then it would be   firefox "https://www.gmx.com"

You can change the icon by clicking on the blue cog icon on the left of Tab 1 (General)

To edit the link you have created right click and go to Properties

Offline

#24 2018-02-01 16:52

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 560

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

Have you actually installed Palemoon via their repository, or have you simply downloaded the .bz2 file and run it from your home folder.

I have Palemoon installed from the repository as detailed here :-

https://software.opensuse.org/download. … e=palemoon

It depends on whether you're using Scorpion = Debian 9 or Orion = Debian 8

I have tested the attached and it works fine in both Orion and Scorpion

If you have just unzipped the downloaded file then you need to provide a path to the binary which might looks like /home/eric/downloads/palemoon/palemoon but it depends what you have done to get palemoon on your machine.

In which case the command would be /home/eric/downloads/palemoon/palemoon "http://www.gmx.com"


Attachments:
desktop GMX email.desktop, Size: 330 B, Downloads: 54

Offline

#25 2018-02-02 15:49

Eric
Member
Registered: 2017-10-31
Posts: 17

Re: Desktop icons.right click mouse,add URL

I have fixed this myself.
I had 2 *.esh program files on the Desktop,when I moved them elsewhere it worked fine With the Create new , link to location URL.

Thanks for the help

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB