You are not logged in.

#1 2023-10-18 14:46

MarkF

Live-64Bit Aquarius does not start with Dell E6410

Hi,
I am new in Linux, just testing some live-versions for getting a feeling what Linux could "fit" to me.
For this I am using a SSD, which is attached via USB or eSATA and formatted with Ventoy (newest version) for direct start of regularily used ISOs, stored on the SSD, and for "indirect" start with Ventoy-Browser via F2 of ISOs stored on other media, e.g. the internal SSD. This is just for information about the environment.
Now I wanted to test Q4OS and MX-Linux, newest 64Bit-Live-versions, with my Laptop Dell E6410. Running Windows I downloaded the ISO-files MX-23.1_x64.iso and q4os-5.3-x64-tde.r1.iso and stored them on the internal SSD. After reboot with the Ventoy-SSD (attached via eSATA) I run it´s Brwoser with F2, selected the ISO-files on the internal SSD and started. Both run and showed the starting window for start-options. MX-23.1_x64 was able to start and run/wo problems. But q4os-5.3-x64-tde.r1 did not start, neither "normal" nor in failsafe-mode. The menu disappears for a short moment and reappears immediately and for a very, very short moment I can see in the bottom line a message, that the kernel can not be loaded due wrong parameters.
I testet it also with a HP dc6029-deskop-PC and there q4os-5.3-x64-tde.r1 was starting and running.
For further testing I removed all arguments in the command line but w/o success.
What can I do elso, what may be the problem?
Other Live-Linux, e.g. Knoppix, Linux Mint, start and work w/o problems.

#2 2023-10-18 15:14

MarkF

Re: Live-64Bit Aquarius does not start with Dell E6410

Add.: The error-message is: Booting Kernel failed: Invalid Argument.