You are not logged in.

#1 2023-03-19 19:02

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 180

Why 5.2 GiB of Swap on an SSD with 8G of RAM?

Just installed Q4OS via "WUBI" and it works fine so far.
(hope to install it soon on a friend's Windows 7)

But why it needs 5GiB for Swap on my SSD is beyond my understanding.

https://i.imgur.com/hIXBZlN.png

Can this be done away with and install Swap file instead?


DELL Optiplex 7060 - 8G RAM.

Offline

#2 2023-03-20 11:18

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 4,334
Website

Re: Why 5.2 GiB of Swap on an SSD with 8G of RAM?

danielson wrote:

Can this be done away with and install Swap file instead?

If you are using Windows installer, it's a swap file already. You can switch swapping off commenting out the relevant line in /etc/fstab

Offline

#3 2023-03-22 20:52

danielson
Member
From: AR - U.S.A.
Registered: 2018-08-29
Posts: 180

Re: Why 5.2 GiB of Swap on an SSD with 8G of RAM?

Thank you! smile


DELL Optiplex 7060 - 8G RAM.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB