You are not logged in.

#1 2022-07-18 19:43

eole73

driver installation for Atheros AR8132 FastEthernet network interface

Hello,

I'm quite new in the linux world although I started working with it since a few months now. A few days ago, I had worked on installing Q4OS on an old Asus laptop from 2009 (my mum's actually). This computer is currently running with Vista but quite labouriously, so the aim of the shift for OSQ is to improve and simplify its functioning. To check the installation and configuration I used a VM on my computer. I believe I set and checked almost everything fine but I just lacked the drivers for the network adaptators (ethernet and wifi).

The ethernet network adaptator on this laptop is an Atheros AR8132 PCI-E Fast Ethernet. After searching for some time on the web, I downloaded this compressed file : compat-drivers-2013-03-04-u.tar.bz2 found at wiki.linuxfoundation.org/networking/alx  ,that I understand may contains the driver for this adaptator (reading in the compressed file it has atl1c, atl1e, atl1x and alx files).

But I am a bit stuck here. What should I do then to install the network interface driver at this point from this file? Does this compressed file indeed contains the driver for this network adaptator (it seems this is the case as it is said in the webpage of the previous link that the atl1c driver provides support for the AR8132 chipset). Also, reading a bit more about this, it seemed that the drivers in this file are based on old kernels (2.6.x or 3.x ?), so is it nonetheless possible to install these drivers on the recent kernel of Debian 11? (current version of Q4OS is using Debian 11 Bulleyes with kernel 5.10.0).

Any advice to how install a functionnal driver for this network adaptator would be much appreciated!