You are not logged in.

#1 2022-04-17 07:59

pierini1
Member
Registered: 2022-04-16
Posts: 2

"USB boot" issue

Hello,
i am using a very old computer purchased in 2004 (18 years ago, FUJITSU SIEMENS SCENIC 500, 2.33 Ghtz cpu, 504 MB ram) and i created a usb key with my Q4OS iso inside.
After that, i start my pc in USB first boot mode and Q4OS grub boot menu appears but now......i can not move anything, any keyboard keys, any mouse, NOTHING so i have to turn my pc off.

I already enable USB LEGACY on my BIOS and everything else but nothing works when Q4OS boot grub menu appears.
What do i have to do now in order to start/try my live Q4OS distro ?

I only downloaded Q4OS versions 2.8 and 3.14 iso's because newer versions always quit by themselves because of some errors during their booting.
I use PLOP BOOT MANAGER on my pc to boot from USB key because my pc has not got USB boot feature in BIOS so i have to use PLOP BOOT MANAGER to boot from USB key.

This is GRUB BOOT MENU pic:
FluxBB bbcode test produces FluxBB bbcode test

Please help, goodbye.

Offline

#2 2022-04-17 15:07

hchiper
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2020-07-28
Posts: 143

Re: "USB boot" issue

Q4OS 4 (Gemini) live versions are available only for 64-bit systems and my guess (but I may be wrong) is that your very old computer might be a 32-bit system, which cannot run these 64-bit live versions. Was this the sense of the error you got with latest live version of Q4OS?


Q4OS machines: [Samsung R519 - Pentium T4200 2.0 GHz - 4 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD] & [Sony Vaio - Pentium P6000 1.87 GHz - 8 GB RAM - 500 GB SSD]

Offline

#3 2022-04-18 07:58

pierini1
Member
Registered: 2022-04-16
Posts: 2

Re: "USB boot" issue

no, i only downloaded 32 bit versions.

Offline

#4 2022-04-18 11:05

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 3,523
Website

Re: "USB boot" issue

@pierini1
What installation iso do you try to boot on the screenshot ?
Q4OS-4 Gemini, Q4OS-3 Centaurus as well as Q4OS-2 Scorpion live media are only available as 64bit editions. If you want to install on 32bit machine, you need to download 32bit "install-cd" media.

Offline

#5 2022-05-05 23:05

ePersephone
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2022-04-20
Posts: 2

Re: "USB boot" issue

I have booted and run Q4OS1 Orion on a Pentium 4 (32-bit, single core) that is a bit older than the computer you are using.  I also have to use Plop. When I boot Q4OS from the Grub menu, after a bit of initial disk actiity it seemed like nothing was happening.  But it did eventually boot after a very long time.
Because most of the action is happening in a virtual file system, no disk activity or any other activity is visible.
Other OpSysses that are too much for that machine behave the same way.

This MAY be what is happening in your case?

Generally speaking, when a boot up takes that long, the OpSys will be unusably slow and unresponsive once it does finally boot.

ePe

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB