You are not logged in.

#1 2022-03-14 19:29

LeantoLinux

Q4OS-4.7-i386-instcd.r1 Will not install to Old IBM Thinkpad

Hello all, I am a newbie with very little knowledge of Linux. I have no experience with command line

I want to keep my 2003 IBM Thinkpad running with Linux. I am encouraged in this hope by reading about distros which can manage with 512 MB of RAM and CPUs older than the P4.

2003 IBM Thinkpad R40e System Hardware Info:
CPU Intel® Mobile Pentium® 4 Processor-M, 1.8Ghz
System Model 2684CVG
HDD Fujitsu MHS2020AT E (PATA) 16.5GB, 7GB Free,
RAM 1GB,
CD-RW/DVD-ROM, TEAC DW-224E

I have read that:
“Intel Mobile Pentium 4-M is the low-power version of the Mobile Pentium z using the Northwood core.”
And that the CPU is: Not the Intel Pentium M (Banias).

Used “lscpu” a terminal entry I found on the net which showed no PAE flag

sorry cannot load image of that

I don’t know where that leaves this CPU and PAE? Is PAE relevant with maximum RAM of 1GB?

OEM OS was MS Windows XP Professional 32-bit SP2 from new but has been recently replaced by dual boot Linux:
Mint 16 Petra Cinnamon 32-bit Crashed but seems to work in fallback. An older Mint would be better.
Bodhi 2.3.0 (circa 2013 from LXF mag DVD).
Although the above connected to the web via ethernet their web browsers did not and could not update directly “no common encryption algorithms”. I was unable to install newer versions of them: Mint Xfce 17.3 Rosa crashes, Bodhi 5.1 Legacy will not load. All distros tested were 32-bit.

I now hope to install Linux Q4os-4.7-1386-instcd.r1 .
Q4os boots from CD on the R40, goes quickly to the opening screen offering classic, automatic installation or an “Advanced” alternative that I did not explore.
Whichever install is chosen a new dark screen appears with a flashing cursor at top left and sticks there. Pressing “Enter, F*” and other keys has no effect.