You are not logged in.

#1 2021-08-17 14:15

SteveM

AppImages won't work?

I installed Q4OS Centaurus which is based on Debian Buster 10 and Plasma 5.14 This is my first time trying it. I have Linuxmint on my other two computers. When I download an AppImage for them, I set the file properties to make it executable, and click on it to launch the program.

I've tried three Appimages on the Q4OS with KDE Plasma. None of them work.

Is this a known bug, or am I missing something?

#2 2021-08-17 21:10

Tolkem

Re: AppImages won't work?

SteveM wrote:

I installed Q4OS Centaurus which is based on Debian Buster 10 and Plasma 5.14 This is my first time trying it. I have Linuxmint on my other two computers. When I download an AppImage for them, I set the file properties to make it executable, and click on it to launch the program.

I've tried three Appimages on the Q4OS with KDE Plasma. None of them work.

Is this a known bug, or am I missing something?

I use around 20 appimages, and they all work fine. What are the ones you're trying? I may download them and see if they work here. Most appimages do work, some do not, and it doesn't have to do anything the DE or distro, but rather the appimages missing something. Also, launch Konsole, and try starting one of the non-working appimages from it

./appimage_name.Appimage

then copy/paste the output in your reply. You can also add them to Plasma's launcher menu, just right-click on the icon and select edit applications.

#3 2021-08-17 21:34

SteveM

I had posted this question on Reddit in r/linuxquestions. I was told:

"You need to enable unprivileged user namespaces. Try running

sudo sysctl -w kernel.unprivileged_userns_clone=1
echo kernel.unprivileged_userns_clone = 1 | sudo tee /etc/sysctl.d/10-unpriv-ns.conf

This specific problem is limited to AppImages that include Chromium on the kernels of Debian until 10 (the kernel of Debian 11 doesn't have that problem)."