You are not logged in.

#1 2021-04-09 20:44

boydg1
Member
From: Bunker Hill, WV.
Registered: 2021-04-09
Posts: 4

bios

A way to update the BIOS without going to Windows first. would be a big time saver.

Offline

#2 2021-04-10 05:24

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,318

Re: bios

That is down to your manufacturer and whatever BIOS they use.

Online

#3 2021-04-11 14:23

Midas
Member
Registered: 2017-12-15
Posts: 176

Re: bios

Or you can do it by setting up a ReactOS ISO (or even FreeDOS if the updater is CMD only) in a USB drive with a number of free utilities (UNetBootin, Etcher, dd)...

Offline

#4 2021-04-11 16:26

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,807
Website

Re: bios

Many manufacturers such as Dell offer methods to update the bios without an OS. Check with the maker of your hardware to see if its available. Some of my older laptops Ive had to use a base Win7 install to get the bios to install.


Q4OS Aquarius 5.1 KDE   Lenovo Thinkcentre M900 Tiny i5-6500T, 16gb ddr4 ram, 512gb m.2 ssd

Offline

#5 2021-04-13 05:28

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 453

Re: bios

Depending on the manufacturer and model, some are supported by the fwupd daemon, which allows you to get firmware (BIOS) updates with your normal system updates.


Q4OS Trinity machine - Crelander E160.  Intel Celeron N5105, 16GB LPDDR4, 512GB m.2 SATA SSD, Intel UHD graphics, Intel 7265 Wifi 5 + BT 4.x

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB