You are not logged in.

#1 2020-04-25 06:41

foyle

Gemini installation query

Hi
Its been a while since Ive posted nonetheless Im not totally new to Q4OS. I had Scorpion and now have Centaurus on an old laptop which runs like a dream on it. Therefore Im not a newbie but then im not an expert so wanted to ask a question with regard to installing Gemini on a PC that i use as a test machine but eventually want my 11 year old son to experiment a little and try and introduce him to Linux. The PC has two hard drives, a SSD with Windows 10 and a conventional hard drive that is partitioned into two. One partition serves as a data drive to store all the Documents etc...from the Win 10 OS. The other partition I want to install Q4OS on. My question how do I install Q4OS onto the partioned drive and where do i install Grub on the SSD ? Been a while since Ive installed linux so memory a bit rusty! Ive attached a image of the installation process i get to where im not too sure where to proceed to. Do i install using "install alongside" , "replace a partition" or "manual partitioning"? And where do install Grub again on the SSD with windows 10 on (MBR)? Sorry like i say its been a while since ive messed around with a Linux distro, so come to a blank!
Thanks in advance for any info or help its much appreciated.
p.s. looks like i accidentally posted twice as well by mistake! sad

foyle

Last edited by foyle (2020-04-25 06:48)

Attachments:
jpg screen 1.jpg, Size: 244.22 KiB, Downloads: 445

#2 2020-04-27 18:24

foyle

Re: Gemini installation query

Seeing though I havent had a reply as yet I decided to go ahead and install on the HD partition with grub configured to install on the MBR ssd (has win 10 on it) and just as I feared Q4OS installed on the hard drive but does not boot into grub just the SSD with Win 10 on it?! Any thoughts, like I say not a newbie but been a long time and being in my mid 50s my memory isnt what it used to be!

#3 2020-04-28 08:34

Dai_trying