You are not logged in.

#1 2019-05-30 13:36

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,147

[DEAD]Centaurus r4 installer bug not detecting existing data partition

q4os-3.6-x64-tde.r4.iso as just released.

Running the installer I noticed it does not detect existing data on second drive partition.

Fortunately I installed on a spare drive so no loss of data, but it just formats the second partition with no warning.

Please see attached screenshot.

Ran again to check and screenshots from second install on this drive.

Last edited by bin (2019-05-30 15:00)


Attachments:
png snapshot1.png, Size: 66.29 KiB, Downloads: 387

Offline

#2 2019-05-30 13:42

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,971
Website

Re: [DEAD]Centaurus r4 installer bug not detecting existing data partition

That looks like you have selected to "replace a partition", if you want to keep the existing installation you should select "install alongside".

Last edited by Dai_trying (2019-05-30 13:42)

Offline

#3 2019-05-30 14:59

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,147

Re: [DEAD]Centaurus r4 installer bug not detecting existing data partition

No, the selection is correct, but the problem was that the larger partition, though formatted had no data - which was fortunate.

Attached is what I expected - but this only happens when there is pre-existing data in /home - which I thought there was, but actually there wasn't.

IDIOT ALERT!!!!

Just put it down to too many early mornings smile


Attachments:
png snapshot1.png, Size: 78.32 KiB, Downloads: 379

Offline

#4 2019-05-30 19:52

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,971
Website

Re: [DEAD]Centaurus r4 installer bug not detecting existing data partition

I've been there too big_smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB