You are not logged in.

#1 2018-02-26 06:39

Tee
Member
From: Silver Spring, Maryland
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 16

Konqueror Web Browser

Konqueror is by far the worst browser...
---------------------------------------------------------
To add Firefox ESR
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install firefox-esr
---------------------------------------------------------
To add Palemoon
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install palemoon

Last edited by Tee (2018-02-28 23:34)

Offline

#2 2018-02-26 10:13

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,944
Website

Re: Konqueror Web Browser

Thanks for the suggestion. Yes, there are better browsers available, but we want to keep the bare Q4OS system as clean and minimal as possible. Users should let the intended tool, desktop profiler, to install an additional software like webbrowser and other more advanced applications.

Offline

#3 2018-02-26 17:30

Tee
Member
From: Silver Spring, Maryland
Registered: 2018-02-25
Posts: 16

Re: Konqueror Web Browser

Konqueror is the worst browser! Its a poor excuse for a working browser....lmao
9 out of the 10 websites failed to load properly + it is questionable as to whether the 10th did.

Last edited by Tee (2018-02-27 20:00)

Offline

#4 2018-02-26 18:11

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 571

Re: Konqueror Web Browser

Deleting Konqueror would be a really, really, really bad idea. You have to understand that the way TDE/KDE works is very different to just about anything else. Konqueror is also the file manager.

Open My Documents - press f9 and then take a look at the tabs down the left hand side.

If you go to My Documents>Settings Menu>Configure View Profiles you'll see that one of them is Web Browsing.

Copy and paste some files and you'll see you are actually pasting URLs

This DE is quite old - KDE 1.0 was around before the Millenium and the concepts it uses have not really changed - it was actually a very novel approach - an all in one browser where the web and the local machine integrated seamlessly - at a time when the world thought Netscape 4 was a good thing.
OK it's not up to modern web design - but if anything that is as much an indictment of poor webdesign rather than failures in the browser.

It's linux - it's your choice - if you want Palemoon then you can have it, or Midori, or Chromium or Chrome or Lynx or W3M or Firefox or install Wine and run IE6 if that's your fancy. It's free and if you break it you even get to keep all the pieces - how good is that?

Offline

#5 2018-05-05 15:21

Rademes
Member
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 339

Re: Konqueror Web Browser

bin wrote:

Deleting Konqueror would be a really, really, really bad idea. You have to understand that the way TDE/KDE works is very different to just about anything else. Konqueror is also the file manager.

The problem was (I don`t know, maybe it was fixed), that some programs such as Skype, LibreOffice, KeePassX thought, that Konqueror browser was the Default web browser on system. So, they always opened links using it, which led to broken/unreadable web pages. That was really very annoying!

Last edited by Rademes (2018-05-05 15:24)

Offline

#6 2018-05-18 00:17

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 290

Re: Konqueror Web Browser

Rademes wrote:
bin wrote:

Deleting Konqueror would be a really, really, really bad idea. You have to understand that the way TDE/KDE works is very different to just about anything else. Konqueror is also the file manager.

The problem was (I don`t know, maybe it was fixed), that some programs such as Skype, LibreOffice, KeePassX thought, that Konqueror browser was the Default web browser on system. So, they always opened links using it, which led to broken/unreadable web pages. That was really very annoying!

You can change that behavior so that TDE won't have Konqueror as the default.

As said previously, TDE without konqueror would be fairly broken for many things.


q4os machine:  Acer Aspire 1 14:  Intel Celeron N3450/4 GB DDR3/32 GB eMMC/Qualcomm QCA9377AC + BT/Intel HD 500/14" 1920x1080 LCD

Offline

#7 2018-05-22 19:48

Rademes
Member
Registered: 2015-12-13
Posts: 339

Re: Konqueror Web Browser

tlmiller76 wrote:

You can change that behavior so that TDE won't have Konqueror as the default.

Оf course I can...but for some applications it was difficult.
Please read this topic.
https://www.q4os.org/forum/viewtopic.php?id=1225

Last edited by Rademes (2018-05-22 20:01)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB