You are not logged in.

#1 2018-01-06 10:48

michaelk
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 74

Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Hi,
I am working here with Q4OS with this kernel:
3.16.0-4-686-pae
Is it possible to upgrade it to a newer version? I tried it but I get the result that

The following packages have unresolved dependancies:
linux-image-4.9.0-0.bpo.2-686-pae : depends on: linux-base (>= 4.3~) but 3.5 is about to get installed
                                     recommends: irqbalance is not about to be installed
Ok, irqbalance I could install. But I do not find linux-base (>= 4.3~)

Can I resolve this problem? How?

Regards,

MichaelK

Offline

#2 2018-01-06 11:36

michaelk
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 74

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Ah, the reason why I need it: the most comfortable access to VPN here at this moment is Opera. But since yesterday the old versions 45 and 46 do not permit that any longer. And the new version 50 I cannot install because I do not have a newer kernel version with pae-extension.

Offline

#3 2018-01-06 18:47

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Can you switch to Scorpion?  Not sure what hardware you have but it shouldnt be an issue. Many members here are using it with older hardware with no issues and there is a 32bit version.  This would solve many issues and allow you to run Chrome and Firefox Quantum.
Its also the official version now and will be supported for many years to come. Orion will be dropped in May 2020.

You could download the live cd for Scorpion and give it a test and see how it does. Its based on the most recent version of Debian 9 versus Orion based on Debian 8.

Last edited by crosscourt (2018-01-06 19:30)

Offline

#4 2018-01-06 21:28

michaelk
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 74

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Yes, possible. I installed Scorpion as well on a laptop. No problem, except one: I cannot use the US keyboard. And I have no idea how to correct it.
The mistake: there is the button for j. Below j I see a figure 1. When I tip j all I see is 1. In case I type l all I see is 3, as this figure is written there. - It must be a small issue, if one knows that damned little secret. ;-)

Using the system configuration button and switching to a German keyboard does not change anything. Its an older IBM Thinkpad.

Offline

#5 2018-01-06 22:26

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,789
Website

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

michaelk wrote:

The mistake: there is the button for j. Below j I see a figure 1. When I tip j all I see is 1. In case I type l all I see is 3, as this figure is written there....

You only need to turn NumLock off, please see https://www.q4os.org/dqa011.html#system.2

Offline

#6 2018-01-06 22:42

michaelk
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 74

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Thanks a lot! In the meantime I had found it by myself! Scorpion runs now on the laptop fine. And I will go on with Scorpion on my Desktop-PC as well soon.

Offline

#7 2018-01-06 22:51

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Just out of curiosity what hardware/system are you using?

Offline

#8 2018-01-06 23:11

michaelk
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 74

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Huh, any intelligent command available to print it out for you? uname -m shows only i686. Not much! ;-)
With hwinfo I get among others:

Arch: Intel
  Vendor: "AuthenticAMD"
  Model: 15.75.2 "AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4200+"
  Features: fpu,vme,de,pse,tsc,msr,pae,mce,cx8,apic,sep,mtrr,pge,mca,cmov,pat,pse36,clflush,mmx,fxsr,sse,sse2,ht,syscall,nx,mmxext,fxsr_opt,rdtscp,lm,3dnowext,3dnow,pni,cx16,lahf_lm,cmp_legacy,svm,extapic,cr8_legacy,vmmcall
  Clock: 1000 MHz
And I can tell you: 4 GB RAM

What else you would want to know?

Thanks a lot, crosscourt

MichaelK

Offline

#9 2018-01-06 23:18

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Appreciate the info, but all I was looking for was the name of the system your using such as Dell Optiplex 7010 or Dell Latitude E5410.

Given the info, you can use the 64bit version of Scorpion as your system is definitely 64bit.

Offline

#10 2018-01-07 07:36

michaelk
Member
Registered: 2017-03-16
Posts: 74

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

@crosscourt

Yes, indeed. On this Desktop-PC Scorpion runs without problems. On this old IBM Thinkpad it runs as well, but when installing it I had to add „forcepae“ in the kernel command line to start it. Without it the installation CD refused to boot.

Offline

#11 2018-01-07 11:12

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,239
Website

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

One command you could use which gives some useful information is inxi -F you will likely need to install the package inxi first as it is not installed by default. This will give a complete system overview like mine below :-

dai@scorpion:~$ inxi -F
System:    Host: scorpion Kernel: 4.9.0-5-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: KDE Plasma 3
           Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   Device: portable System: Dell product: Inspiron 15-3552 v: 4.0.13
           Mobo: Dell model: 0T14MC v: A00 UEFI: Dell v: 4.0.13 date: 12/22/2016
Battery    BAT0: charge: 28.0 Wh 112.9% condition: 24.8/28.0 Wh (89%)
CPU:       Quad core Intel Pentium N3700 (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB 
           clock speeds: max: 2400 MHz 1: 772 MHz 2: 1385 MHz 3: 658 MHz 4: 800 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1366x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel HD Graphics 405 (Braswell) GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio:     Card Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx Series High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-5-amd64
Network:   Card-1: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter driver: ath9k
           IF: wlp1s0 state: up mac: 94:53:30:3d:09:15
           Card-2: Atheros
           IF: null-if-id state: N/A speed: N/A duplex: N/A mac: N/A
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 500.1GB (34.1% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: TOSHIBA_MQ01ABF0 size: 500.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 49G used: 15G (31%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda8
           ID-2: swap-1 size: 4.29GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda6
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 35.0C mobo: 31.0C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A fan-1: 0
Info:      Processes: 167 Uptime: 5 min Memory: 577.2/3867.7MB Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.5 

As you can see it can give some very useful information on your system and is quite a small install, and provided you have internet access can be installed and run from a live-cd environment too. smile

Offline

#12 2018-01-07 18:16

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: Updating from 3.16.0-4-686-pae possible?

Which model number IBM Thinkpad is it?  You can also install an app called hardinfo from Synaptic that gives you a system profile and has individual categories to view specific aspects of your system, such as cpu type, but runs with  GUI and can be accessed with a click.

Im guessing your laptop uses a Pentium M processo,r where the PAE support is problematic depending on the which Pentium M is being used.

Last edited by crosscourt (2018-01-07 18:45)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB