You are not logged in.

#1 2017-10-25 02:08

Qwertius
Member
Registered: 2017-10-24
Posts: 18

1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Guys --- this is a thing that I would really like to see nailed by Q4OS.

I run a three identical run of the mill Dell 19" screens.

SXGA  -5:4 Ratio - 1280X1024 -- which is used by nearly 6% of the market.

Nothing flash or fancy.

My Mac recognized the proper screen resolution.

My Windows recognized the correct resolution.

However - ALL of the linux distros I have ever used --- DON'T --- allow for that screen size.

The max resolution available tops out at 1024 x 768 - which makes everything look bloated & elephant size.

To me - it's a bit of a frustration & a surprise considering that the number of screens this size runs into the hundreds of millions.

Yes - I know - there is a potential solution that requires adding code via Terminal - but that's not the point.

Linux like all other Operating Systems should be able to recognize that ratio - straight out of the box.

So - I'd appreciate a long term solution.

I think screen resolution resides in the 'Etc' folder.

I also know it can be altered by invoking xrandr -- but I am wondering if the change needs to be deeper.

At kernel level ?

Thoughts, opinions & ideas ?

Q

Offline

#2 2017-10-25 02:51

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Ive run a lot of Dell monitors 19" over 10+ years and have never encountered an issue with 1280x1024 and any Linux distro(maybe a long time ago).

Im typing on a Dell monitor 19" from 2005 and its running at 1280x1024 with Q4OS 2.4.  My HP 19" from 2009 which is also on is also fine with 1280x1024.
Acer 19:" from 2006 also fine. 

Ive heard about this issue but never experienced it myself.  What model of Dell monitor are you using out of curiosity?

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-10-25 03:00)

Offline

#3 2017-10-25 09:27

Qwertius
Member
Registered: 2017-10-24
Posts: 18

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

crosscourt wrote:

Ive run a lot of Dell monitors 19" over 10+ years and have never encountered an issue with 1280x1024 and any Linux distro(maybe a long time ago).

Im typing on a Dell monitor 19" from 2005 and its running at 1280x1024 with Q4OS 2.4.  My HP 19" from 2009 which is also on is also fine with 1280x1024.
Acer 19:" from 2006 also fine. 

Ive heard about this issue but never experienced it myself.  What model of Dell monitor are you using out of curiosity?

Hmmm.

That is very interesting to know.

I'm running Dell 1097FP's --- as far as I can tell.

That has me thinking.

Perhaps the Hp USDT 8000 series is not able to handle the combination.

The HP has standard VGA output.

Q

Tommorow - I might try switching over to a newer Dell SFF i5 quad core series.

Last edited by Qwertius (2017-10-25 09:29)

Offline

#4 2017-10-25 09:39

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,244
Website

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

I have a dell 1901fp and it has had no problem with resolution and defaults to 1280x1024 on all the distro's I have used. The only exception to this was when I bought a cheap vga cable and tried using it the resolution on any monitor was limited to 1024x768 so it might be worth checking the cables and maybe swapping it with another one.

Offline

#5 2017-10-25 12:40

Qwertius
Member
Registered: 2017-10-24
Posts: 18

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Dai,

Your right -- I am using a cheap cable.

It came with the screen - its made by Dell in China... LOL

But seriously that is another point worth looking into.

I should point out that I am using that HP USDT 8000 & Dell Screen combo right now.

Only - I am running W10 with it on one partition & W7 on the other.

Both set the resolution properly to 1280 x 1024.

Q

Last edited by Qwertius (2017-10-25 12:42)

Offline

#6 2017-10-25 15:20

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,244
Website

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Yes it is strange how the resolution is not always set correctly, but another reason for it could be if you had not installed the video drivers for the card, if it needs proprietary drivers then it would usually have to be downloaded first and then Linux would read the card correctly and set the screen accordingly. Although the devs do try to put as much firmware into the installed system as space allows, but there will always be "fringe cases".
Over all I think Linux (the kernel) has come a long way in the last 10-15 years or so that I have been using it, I first used DSL and back in those days it was extremely difficult (if not impossible) to get anything to work correctly, nowadays most things can be rectified with a click here and there or a few short command in a terminal. I know I am more than happy with how it runs on todays machines. smile

Offline

#7 2017-10-25 21:04

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Dai beat me to it  as I agree it more than likely is a driver issue(also check the cable).   The monitor you have 1907fp from 2006 is fully able to work with 1280x1024 and is a common profile so shouldnt be a problem.  Im also using a standard vga connection in all cases with no issues.

HP USDT 8000  uses a Q45 express Intel chipset with onboard Intel graphics(released 2009) so you shouldnt have any problems. If youre running more than one monitor that could be an issue but make sure the driver is up to date and  there have been some issues with Intel drivers(none Ive experienced).
Your system shouldnt be having any issues but checking what driver youre using would be a good idea. Given your system is a socket 775 its an older system but still supported just fine.  My older Dell 780s use the same chipset and have no issues at all.

Intel drivers are included with various kernels and my 780s work with both orion 1.8.8 and Scorpion 2.4 which use  different kernels.

Last edited by crosscourt (2017-10-26 01:06)

Offline

#8 2017-10-26 09:16

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 561

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Programs>Accessories>System>TDERandRTray will load an icon into the system tray bottom right

This will at least allow you to see all the resolutions for that monitor.

I ran an identical monitor for many years - no problem.

Offline

#9 2017-10-26 09:35

Qwertius
Member
Registered: 2017-10-24
Posts: 18

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Guys,

You have all been terrific.

Well, I decided to update the drivers via intel.

The Intel app did its thing & declared the drivers to be up to date.

I went ahead and installed the latest Graphic drivers manually.

I then booted into a couple of Live distros -- it made no difference.

The screen was still only giving me a max res of 1024 x 768

So I switched everything off and went out with a friend and had a bowl of chips & a beer.

It worked wonders -- smile

Came home & decided to swap over the VGA cable.

That's when I noticed that the cable was not sitting in its socket properly.

I retightened all the cables - then started up with Q4OS live - off a thumb drive.

Viola !!!!   Magic --- perfect screen resolution.  That's all it was in the end.

I have also run Mint - live & its giving me the correct resolution as well.

So there it is.

One pint of beer & some chips -- was all it took to fix the problem.

Last edited by Qwertius (2017-10-26 09:40)

Offline

#10 2017-10-26 09:57

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,244
Website

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Qwertius wrote:

One pint of beer & some chips -- was all it took to fix the problem.

That's one fix I'll be sure to try when something isn't doing what it should big_smile

Offline

#11 2017-10-26 13:47

pippin
Member
From: Staffordshire, UK
Registered: 2017-10-12
Posts: 14

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Dai_trying wrote:
Qwertius wrote:

One pint of beer & some chips -- was all it took to fix the problem.

That's one fix I'll be sure to try when something isn't doing what it should big_smile



Oh yes....I like it.

Offline

#12 2017-10-26 20:22

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

The simple things are the toughest to spot.  My Dell 780s use the same chipset as your HP and I use the older drivers and it silll works so the cable became the suspect but you beat me to it.

Offline

#13 2017-10-28 13:09

Qwertius
Member
Registered: 2017-10-24
Posts: 18

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

I owe all you guys a beer & chips for your efforts.

Now whose paying ?

smile

Offline

#14 2017-10-28 17:24

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Being a graphics guy, even with an average desktop, using a higher quality cable is definitely worth your while.

Offline

#15 2017-10-29 01:01

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,244
Website

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

crosscourt wrote:

Being a graphics guy, even with an average desktop, using a higher quality cable is definitely worth your while.

I thought the next post would have been an offer to get the beers and chips! C'mon CC it must be your round big_smile

Offline

#16 2017-10-29 01:28

crosscourt
Member
Registered: 2017-05-07
Posts: 1,475

Re: 1280 x 1024 screen resolution

Im a bit far away but always game for some fun.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB