You are not logged in.

#1 2017-07-30 17:55

Werner Holtfreter
Member
Registered: 2016-10-09
Posts: 41

Scan software brocken

Hello,

My old scanner Medion MD6228 works perfect with Kubuntu14.04 on an AMD64 6 core CPU. Tested today again. But with the same computer and Q4OS Orion with the current updates the scans are broken often, but not ever: Large colored spots appear if I scan the same paper repeated. The spots change from scan to scan. The only one constant errors are the eroded horizontal lines at B/W scans. Looks like exaggerated edge sharpening.

The errors occurs with the frontends gscan2pdf and XSane.

Offline

#2 2017-07-30 20:55

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 1,454
Website

Re: Scan software brocken

Please try scanning using 'Kooka' application, please see https://www.q4os.org/dqa007.html#printer.3 , and report back.

Offline

#3 2017-07-31 00:08

Werner Holtfreter
Member
Registered: 2016-10-09
Posts: 41

Re: Scan software brocken

Thank you for replay. With Kooka exact the same result.

Offline

#4 2017-07-31 06:27

bin
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 411

Re: Scan software brocken

You might want to try using VueScan - you can download the demo from https://www.hamrick.com/download.html

It is a commercial product, but it is fully portable as a self-contained binary and quite frankly blows the Xsane stuff into the weeds.

I started using it some years ago with my Canon 8800F as it was the only way to scan slides, and never looked back. If it works for you as a demo then at least it's a start in eliminating hardware issues.

Last edited by bin (2017-07-31 06:27)

Offline

#5 2017-07-31 09:21

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 1,726
Website

Re: Scan software brocken

I have used ocrfeeder for scanning documents (with ocr facility) and it has worked well for me. although if there is an underlying problem with the scanning I'm not sure another package would really help much.

Offline

#6 2017-07-31 23:23

Werner Holtfreter
Member
Registered: 2016-10-09
Posts: 41

Re: Scan software brocken

bin wrote:

You might want to try using VueScan - you can download the demo from https://www.hamrick.com/download.html
... If it works for you as a demo then at least it's a start in eliminating hardware issues.

It works well, consequently no hardware problem.

Offline

#7 2017-08-01 06:36

bin
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 411

Re: Scan software brocken

That's good.

Offline

#8 2017-08-15 22:34

Werner Holtfreter
Member
Registered: 2016-10-09
Posts: 41

Re: Scan software brocken

bin wrote:

That's good.

Good for my scanner, it works without errors, but not good for the scan software in the repos. I don't want pay-software, consequently, the problem still exist.

Offline

#9 2017-08-16 06:23

bin
Member
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 411

Re: Scan software brocken

Having established that it is software based it's a question of what to do about it.
Your scanner is handled by the sane-genesys backend which is included in libsane
https://manpages.debian.org/jessie/libs … .5.en.html
So, is there a problem with the way that is built? - No idea - but the fact that you get the same problems with diferent front-ends suggests the backend is the problem.
Is it a USB communication issue? - Likewise
Might it be worth trying with Q4OS Scorpion Live and install Sane/XSane - see what happens? It does use later versions from Stretch. Sadly there does not seem to be anything in Backports that would help.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB