You are not logged in.

#1 2016-11-30 19:59

ghostdawg
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 69

Need New Wifi Router

I guess my current Netgear router is dying. I can't seem to keep any connections when the router is plugged into my cable modem. No wifi devices or the PC will have a connection, it looses it after around 30 min. or so. The modem is working fine when I plug it directly into my PC. I've had the router for about 5 or so years.  smile

Any recommendations for a nice new one? Nothing expensive, $50 or less.

Thnx.


Dell Optiplex 760 - Quad Core | 4gb | 250gb | Mageia 5, Salix 14.2, Q4OS
Lenovo Thinkpad T420 | 4gb | 120gb | Mageia 5, Debian Testing

Offline

#2 2016-12-01 04:16

tlmiller76
Member
From: AZ, USA
Registered: 2016-11-29
Posts: 438

Re: Need New Wifi Router

I like the Linksys EA6400/6500.  While they don't have all the abilities of some of those with external antennas, and they might not have QUITE as strong a signal, I really like the clean look, and they work well.  I prefer the EA65/6400 to the 63/6200 due to having 3 antennas on the 5 GHz channel as compared to only 2 with the lesser routers (the 6500 also has 3 on the 2.4 GHz band compared to 2 on the 6400).

Last edited by tlmiller76 (2016-12-01 04:17)


Q4OS Trinity machine - Lenovo Thinkpad T495.  Ryzen 7 Pro 3700U, 32GB DDR4, 1TB Pioneer APS-20-1T NVMe + 512 GB Gudga NVMe, Vega 10 IGP, Intel AX200 Wifi-6 + BT 5.x

Offline

#3 2016-12-01 09:41

milink
Member
Registered: 2016-12-01
Posts: 2

Re: Need New Wifi Router

Before buying new router, try replace the power supply. It is usually the source of the problem...

Offline

#4 2016-12-01 15:37

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 1,175

Re: Need New Wifi Router

Strongly recommend you take a look at some of the articles on www.theregister.co.uk about router vulnerabilities before making any decisions.

Offline

#5 2016-12-01 17:07

ghostdawg
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 69

Re: Need New Wifi Router

Thanks guys. I'll look into all the suggestions.


Dell Optiplex 760 - Quad Core | 4gb | 250gb | Mageia 5, Salix 14.2, Q4OS
Lenovo Thinkpad T420 | 4gb | 120gb | Mageia 5, Debian Testing

Offline

#6 2016-12-08 15:35

ghostdawg
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2016-09-19
Posts: 69

Re: Need New Wifi Router

I ended up getting a Belkin N300 router. So far it has been doing the job for me.

Thanks to all.


Dell Optiplex 760 - Quad Core | 4gb | 250gb | Mageia 5, Salix 14.2, Q4OS
Lenovo Thinkpad T420 | 4gb | 120gb | Mageia 5, Debian Testing

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB