You are not logged in.

#1 2016-11-14 13:02

tcoulon

No auto login but synaptic needs no password

Hello all,

I'm new to q4os, running on a raspberry pi for now (I'll try on my regular hardware soon).

The systems runs fine on the pi, but two things puzzle me:

- I've tried to enable auto login (graphical) but it does not work, I get sent to pam_nologin(8) every time. I did dearch and read about pam_nologin(8) but it did not show me how to solve this (unimportant) problem. I plan to use the pi as an email and music machine  mainly, to login in is not really a problem (with my daughter growing I may even really NEED it smile)

- I am *not* running as root, but synaptic starts without any password ?!?  No biggie either for me but I'm surprised.

Have a nice day,

Thierry

#2 2016-11-14 17:37

Dai_trying

Re: No auto login but synaptic needs no password

Hi Thierry,
Re password for synaptic
   Once you enter your password to issue a root command (the same for sudo) it will remember the elevated state for 30 minutes (default) so you will not need to re-enter you password again for that time, this can be changed by editing the file /etc/sudoers.d/q4_sudo_confd and set the value of timestamp_timeout to a different value. You can disable this completely by entering a 0 but I would not recommend this as it could cause problems with some scripts that require multiple sudo (or gksudo) command to run.

As for the auto-login, I cannot offer advice for that as I have no access to a Pi machine as yet, but I'm sure the devs will offer some advice. smile

#3 2016-11-14 18:03

nomadxp1

pam_nologin(8) I have the same thing on my pi3..as you say it is not too important..would like to know why though..

#4 2016-11-14 19:38

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Website

1. Auto-login