You are not logged in.

#1 2019-06-18 20:51

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,644
Website

Q4OS entry in grub

Would it be possible to have grub recognise Q4OS when the OS controlling grub is not Q4OS?

As most of you know I usually have both stable and testing versions of Debian and Q4OS installed (and usually one or two other OS's) and when grub is not controlled by Q4OS it is shown as Debian (either Stable or Testing) and I have to guess which one is Q4OS... I know it is not a big deal as most people do not install as many OS's as I do but it would certainly be helpful if it could be made to show the correct distro all of the time.

Offline

#2 2019-06-19 06:11

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 695

Re: Q4OS entry in grub

Plus one for that!

Offline

#3 2019-06-19 07:06

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,318
Website

Re: Q4OS entry in grub

Well, we will take a look on that.

Offline

#4 2019-06-19 07:58

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,644
Website

Re: Q4OS entry in grub

Thanks guys, just to note it doesn't matter (to me) with a UEFI system as I can rename the boot entries easily from the UEFI settings and always select OS from the UEFI boot menu, but with my BIOS boot systems it is often confusing.

Offline

#5 2019-06-19 09:15

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,644
Website

Re: Q4OS entry in grub

It turns out to be easier than I first thought, you simply need to create the file /etc/lsb-release and put in the following content (for Centaurus obviously smile ):-

PRETTY_NAME="Q4OS 3.7 Centaurus"
DISTRIB_ID=Q4OS
DISTRIB_RELEASE=3.7
DISTRIB_CODENAME=Centaurus
DISTRIB_DESCRIPTION="Q4OS 3.7 Centaurus"

I ran update-grub afterwards but not sure if you need to as os-prober reads the file directly. Obviously you would need to update grub on the controlling OS after making this change.

Last edited by Dai_trying (2019-06-19 09:15)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB