You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-15 13:10

notglowing
Member
Registered: 2019-01-15
Posts: 3

Incorrect lid close behaviour [TDEPowersave]

On a HP Pavillion dm4 laptop, this is what I get from lid close:

Suspend to RAM: works fine. 
Suspend to disk: turns off entirely.
Nothing: suspend to RAM.

On tdepowersaverc these values are applied:
ActionOnLidClose=SUSPEND2RAM
ActionOnLidClose=SUSPEND2DISK
ActionOnLidClose=

Should I report this elsewhere?

I'm asking in support because I would like help to achieve:

1) How do I get to only turn the screen off on lid close?
2) Is it possible to not ask for password after suspend to RAM? Should I try a display manager other than default, and how?

Offline

#2 2019-01-15 13:19

notglowing
Member
Registered: 2019-01-15
Posts: 3

Re: Incorrect lid close behaviour [TDEPowersave]

I should mention it's a fresh install of Q4OS 2.7 with trinity. It's for my father to use, he wants the power button to suspend to RAM and not ask password, and lid close to just turn off screen, as he used on Windows.

He liked the OS, it's running very smooth. Hopefully he adapts well into it. Thanks for your time.

Offline

#3 2019-01-17 14:01

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,330
Website

Re: Incorrect lid close behaviour [TDEPowersave]

notglowing wrote:

Should I report this elsewhere?

We will check that and possibly report an issue at the TDE developers. Thanks for reporting.

ad1.
Unfortunately, this cannot be configured in TDE. You could try to workaround this by setting "nothing" in TDE powersave and uncomment the "HandleLidSwitch=" line in /etc/systemd/logind.conf and set the value to "lock".

ad2.
Right mouse click on empty desktop > Configure desktop > Screen saver > Settings panel > check "Require password to stop"

Offline

#4 2019-01-20 16:26

notglowing
Member
Registered: 2019-01-15
Posts: 3

Re: Incorrect lid close behaviour [TDEPowersave]

ad2. solved the biggest gripe here, although I didn't get it to be exactly how imagined, it's working very fine, this and everything in general. Even the printer was very simple to setup. The matter here is as good as solved for me.

Many thanks to the q4os team. You're doing awesome work.

Last edited by notglowing (2019-01-20 16:26)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB