You are not logged in.

#1 2019-08-29 16:29

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,454
Website

A simple way to make MX Linux repositories available in Q4OS

Both Q4OS and MX Linux are based on Debian, so their repositories should be compatible. If you would want to install from MX repositories in Q4OS, you need to add them first.

Note, these instructions are not intended for Linux beginners, you should be aware what you are doing. This procedure is applicable for Q4OS 3 Centaurus only. As a result, you will get a mixed repositories system and it will not be possible to revert back to a clean Q4OS system without reinstallation. It's also possible you could meet some issues regarding to MX sysv versus systemd used in Q4OS.

First, update your Q4OS system:
$ sudo apt update
$ sudo apt dist-upgrade

Log into a desktop environment, either Plasma or Trinity, and run in terminal:
$ sudo qrepoadd --gui
Select "mx-linux" from drop-down list, press Ok button and update APT data:
$ sudo apt update

Now, you will be able to install software from Debian, Q4OS as well MX repositories.

If you want to remove MX repositories later, just run:
$ sudo qreporm mx-linux

Last edited by q4osteam (2019-08-30 09:22)

Offline

#2 2019-08-30 06:31

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 710

Re: A simple way to make MX Linux repositories available in Q4OS

Hi guys

Please forgive me if this sounds critical - it is not meant to be. Have you done this and then run a dist-upgrade on the system with MX repos added?

I'm guessing you have, it's just that with MX a number of packages are re-packaged from upstream, and also of course they are sysv based rather than systemd.  I only ask this because I used to do this with Q4OS Scorpion to take advantage of - for example GIMP 2.10 which was then from Debian testing but live in their repos.  A couple of things went a bit wrong!

Offline

#3 2019-08-30 07:47

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,454
Website

Re: A simple way to make MX Linux repositories available in Q4OS

Yes, tested the procedure above with Q4OS Centaurus and that went fine. The MX sysv repository in Centaurus is omitted using the "qrepoadd" tool, unlike in Scorpion, so that could cause issues for Scorpion. We will check that and make a fix for Scorpion. Thanks for the notification.

EDIT: It's not possible to add MX repositories using "qrepoadd" tool in Scorpion default configuration. One would need to explicitly enable this repository, so it's all right and doesn't need a fix.

Last edited by q4osteam (2019-08-30 13:13)

Offline

#4 2019-08-30 13:30

Midas
Member
Registered: 2017-12-15
Posts: 18

Re: A simple way to make MX Linux repositories available in Q4OS

Would the reverse -- i.e., adding Q4OS repos to a MX install -- be OK, too?

Offline

#5 2019-08-30 13:39

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,454
Website

Re: A simple way to make MX Linux repositories available in Q4OS

We would guess that should work, but haven't tested it.

Offline

#6 2019-09-23 08:03

deanr
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2019-09-07
Posts: 20

Re: A simple way to make MX Linux repositories available in Q4OS

This could be useful for adding Freemaker Office which they've now added to their repos.

Offline

#7 2019-09-28 07:20

stavpup
Member
Registered: 2019-03-17
Posts: 7

Re: A simple way to make MX Linux repositories available in Q4OS

I think that we can use the packages manually and not risk breaking our system

http://mxrepo.com/MX17packages.html

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB