You are not logged in.

#26 2018-02-22 16:37

Vicente10H
Member
Registered: 2018-02-12
Posts: 10

Re: Does not start the desktop

Dai_trying wrote:

As you now have a working installation, could you install the package inxi

sudo apt install inxi

and post the output of inxi -F

inxi -F

This might give us a better idea of how your system is currently configured.

System:    Host: pc Kernel: 4.9.0-5-686-pae i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 3 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   Device: desktop Mobo: Packard Bell BV model: MCP61DM2MA v: 1.XX
           BIOS: Phoenix v: PBAMARMB.0400 date: 05/15/2007
CPU:       Dual core AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ (-MCP-) cache: 1024 KB
           clock speeds: max: 2611 MHz 1: 2611 MHz 2: 2611 MHz
Graphics:  Card: NVIDIA GT218 [GeForce 210]
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: nouveau (unloaded: modesetting,                                             fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1024x768@60.00hz
           GLX Renderer: Gallium 0.4 on NVA8 GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio:     Card-1 NVIDIA MCP61 High Definition Audio driver: snd_hda_intel
           Card-2 NVIDIA High Definition Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-5-686-pae
Network:   Card-1: NVIDIA MCP61 Ethernet driver: forcedeth
           IF: enp0s7 state: up speed: 100 Mbps duplex: full
           mac: 00:1c:25:32:7b:88
           Card-2: Qualcomm Atheros AR9227 Wireless Network Adapter
           driver: ath9k
           IF: wlp1s7 state: down mac: 14:cc:20:0e:9b:3f
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 320.1GB (1.9% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: ST3320820AS size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 28G used: 4.8G (19%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda2
           ID-2: /home size: 264G used: 62M (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda3
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 1.10GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sda1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: N/A gpu: 75.0
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 137 Uptime: 3:23 Memory: 238.1/1004.9MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.5

Offline

#27 2018-03-27 23:33

VolodVer
Member
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 20

Re: Does not start the desktop

I installed latest version Q4OS Scorpion - 64bit / x64 (asus z99h) but does not started the desktop trinity

Offline

#28 2018-03-27 23:42

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,330
Website

Re: Does not start the desktop

Please describe what you see after the boot. Are you able to login to terminal or desktop freezes completely ? Are there some error messages visible ? What is your graphics card type and model ?

Offline

#29 2018-03-28 06:01

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 696

Re: Does not start the desktop

@VolodVer

There are 2 sources for installing Q4OS - the Installation CD Image and the Live CD Image.

If you used the Installation CD Image I would go back and download the Live CD Image as that will enable you to double check whether the desktop loads correctly. You can install from the Live CD Image as well so it will then allow you to re-install.

From what I can find this is the original spec of your machine.

WinXP Home
Celeron M 1860 MHz
Processor Model:M440
Number of Cores:1
The system bus:533 MHz
Chipset Model:Intel 940GML
Memory:512 MB DDR2
Display:14-inch, 1280x800, Widescreen
Graphics Chipset Model:Intel GMA 950

If this is true then I suggest you use the older 32 bit Q4OS Orion Live Cd and Installer

https://sourceforge.net/projects/q4os/files/oldstable/q4os-live-1.8.8-i686pae.iso/download

as a starting point.

Offline

#30 2018-03-28 08:05

VolodVer
Member
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 20

Re: Does not start the desktop

q4osteam wrote:

Please describe what you see after the boot. Are you able to login to terminal or desktop freezes completely ? Are there some error messages visible ? What is your graphics card type and model ?

I have asus z99h (upgrade)
Processor : Core 2 T7200 2.0 GHz 64bit number of cores: 2
Memory : 2000 MB DD2
Graphics Chipset Model:Intel GMA 950

I installed Linux Mint 64 bit, Ubuntu 64bit and all worked

But I  booted Q4OS Live mode, does not started the desktop trinity. I saw terminal mode (prompt loggin and password). I booted Q4OS Live mode (failsafe), very well - Trinity started. I installed latest version Q4OS Scorpion and fiasco - terminal mode (prompt login and password). It`s all. Sorry my English

Offline

#31 2018-03-28 21:48

VolodVer
Member
Registered: 2018-03-27
Posts: 20

Re: Does not start the desktop

VolodVer wrote:
q4osteam wrote:

Please describe what you see after the boot. Are you able to login to terminal or desktop freezes completely ? Are there some error messages visible ? What is your graphics card type and model ?

I have asus z99h (upgrade)
Processor : Core 2 T7200 2.0 GHz 64bit number of cores: 2
Memory : 2000 MB DD2
Graphics Chipset Model:Intel GMA 950

I installed Linux Mint 64 bit, Ubuntu 64bit and all worked

But I  booted Q4OS Live mode, does not started the desktop trinity. I saw terminal mode (prompt loggin and password). I booted Q4OS Live mode (failsafe), very well - Trinity started. I installed latest version Q4OS Scorpion and fiasco - terminal mode (prompt login and password). It`s all. Sorry my English


SOLVED!


- Add backports, see https://backports.debian.org/Instructions/
$ sudo apt-get -t stretch-backports install xserver-xorg-video-intel

$ sudo reboot

Last edited by VolodVer (2018-03-28 21:54)

Offline

#32 2018-03-29 06:34

bin
Member
From: U.K.
Registered: 2016-01-28
Posts: 696

Re: Does not start the desktop

smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB