You are not logged in.

#1 2018-10-06 17:14

ChasG
Member
Registered: 2018-10-05
Posts: 11

Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

Q4os trinity KD.
Can I get all the installed packages (programs) into a simple list' so they can be easily found and fired up as chosen?
The problem is for a new user used to Windows XP is finding anything. There are folders etc but you have to know the system prior
to be able to find things quick sharp.
Iv used the Synaptic Package Manager to install things, and I cant find them.
A really idiotic problem to people who know the system but for me its really annoying, sorry!

Offline

#2 2018-10-06 19:33

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,383
Website

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

One thing you could try is from the Welcome Screen select Switch to Kickoff start menu and choose menu type classic and Menu Structure Categories this might give you a more intuitive "windows style" start menu.

Offline

#3 2018-10-07 08:03

ChasG
Member
Registered: 2018-10-05
Posts: 11

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

Many thanks for taking the trouble to reply and giving me a pointer!
I will have another go at it when time allows.. 
I thought Id use ShotCut video editor as a system test, so far sad  as  I couldn't even
find it after installation! C+

Offline

#4 2018-10-07 09:10

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,383
Website

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

Shotcut is not available from the normal repositories but the download section of their site offers a portable version, a flatpak version, an appimage or a snap package, so it would depend on the version you are using on where you can find it and you might need to perform some after download extra steps depending on which one you have.
I have OpenShot on my system and although I do not use it extensively it has helped with a few small video projects and has worked well for my use. There are also a few others in the repositories (easier installation) like pitivi, kino, kdenlive and gopchop but it depend on what your needs are as to whether they would be suitable for you.

Offline

#5 2018-10-07 09:26

ChasG
Member
Registered: 2018-10-05
Posts: 11

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

Sorry memory let me down - I meant Openshot  not the shotcut I quoted!
Thanks

Offline

#6 2018-10-07 09:52

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,383
Website

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

In your start menu you should find OpenShot under Multimedia using the menu structure posted earlier, or Programs -> Accessories -> Multimedia with standard Q4OS menu structure.
If you use Bourbon or KickOff as a menu you could start to type the name of the package in the search box at the bottom (top for KickOff) and it should filter out other packages and leave only ones matching your text. Otherwise the location is Applications -> Programs -> Accessories -> Multimedia or Applications -> Multimedia depending on the menu structure you are using.

Offline

#7 2018-10-07 11:03

ChasG
Member
Registered: 2018-10-05
Posts: 11

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

Really helpful post for a new user, thank you.
Am away for a bit and will have a 'go' on return! C+

Offline

#8 2018-10-08 12:20

jschall
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 31

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

@ChasG:
Have you tried using the Run utility to find and execute applications?

Just hit <ALT><F2> and enter the program name in the search box.

Offline

#9 2018-10-08 12:51

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,383
Website

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

jschall wrote:

@ChasG:
Have you tried using the Run utility to find and execute applications?

Just hit <ALT><F2> and enter the program name in the search box.

A good suggestion but will only work if your program/appimage/script is in the $PATH variable as it does not search for executable files in other locations.

Offline

#10 2018-10-08 21:02

jschall
Member
Registered: 2018-09-16
Posts: 31

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

Well, since ChasG has installed his "extra" programs using Synaptic, won't they all be in the $PATH?

Offline

#11 2018-10-08 21:23

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,383
Website

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

yea sorry I was thinking of a different post when I wrote that, I had in mind OP was using appimages or running in userspace. smile

Offline

#12 2018-10-23 15:50

Marcus
Member
Registered: 2018-10-23
Posts: 1

Re: Can't find programs Ive installed and its wasting time - new user.

Hi, what I found a bit confusing is the fact that most of the programs are sorted under the Accessories section. There is where I did not expect to find them.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB