You are not logged in.

#1 2019-01-22 20:50

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

System:    Host: q4os-desktop Kernel: 4.9.0-8-686-pae i686 (32 bit)
           Desktop: KDE Plasma 3 Distro: Debian GNU/Linux 9 (stretch)
Machine:   Device: desktop System: Hewlett-Packard product: hp t5740
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 3641h
           BIOS: American Megatrends v: 786R8 v1.04 date: 03/22/2011
CPU:       Single core Intel Atom N280 (-HT-) cache: 512 KB
           clock speeds: max: 1667 MHz 1: 1333 MHz 2: 1333 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel Mobile 4 Series Integrated Graphics Controller
           Display Server: X.Org 1.19.2 drivers: modesetting (unloaded: fbdev,vesa)
           Resolution: 1360x768@60.02hz
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Mobile Intel GM45 Express x86/MMX/SSE2
           GLX Version: 2.1 Mesa 13.0.6
Audio:     Card Intel 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller
           driver: snd_hda_intel
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture v: k4.9.0-8-686-pae
Network:   Card-1: Realtek RTL8188CE 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter
           driver: rtl8192ce
           IF: wlp3s0 state: up mac: 68:a3:c4:84:7b:4c
           Card-2: Broadcom Limited NetLink BCM57780 Gigabit Ethernet PCIe
           driver: tg3
           IF: enp4s0 state: down mac: 18:a9:05:6b:d0:7f
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 322.1GB (3.3% used)
           ID-1: /dev/sda model: 2GB_ATA_Flash_Di size: 2.0GB
           ID-2: USB /dev/sdb model: 3AS size: 320.1GB
Partition: ID-1: / size: 285G used: 2.6G (1%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sdb2
           ID-2: /boot size: 1.4G used: 38M (3%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda1
           ID-3: swap-1 size: 8.10GB used: 0.00GB (0%) fs: swap dev: /dev/sdb1
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 18.0C mobo: N/A
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A
Info:      Processes: 129 Uptime: 7 min Memory: 303.5/2967.9MB
           Client: Shell (bash) inxi: 2.3.5

Offline

#2 2019-01-22 21:02

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,532
Website

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

Have you tried the documentation?

http://q4os.org/dqa011.html#install.3

Offline

#3 2019-01-22 21:03

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,532
Website

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

Our timing is getting terrible big_smile

Offline

#4 2019-01-22 21:20

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,169
Website

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

Yes, we have removed our post, as that was the same smile

Offline

#5 2019-01-22 21:22

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

Yes, I tried all that...nothing...

Offline

#6 2019-01-22 21:41

Dai_trying
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2015-12-14
Posts: 2,532
Website

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

What output did you get from any of the commands you used?

Offline

#7 2019-01-22 21:55

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ sudo apt install pulseaudio pavucontrol-qt
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
pavucontrol-qt is already the newest version (0.2.0-1).
pulseaudio is already the newest version (10.0-1+deb9u1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$

brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ sudo apt install pulseaudio pavucontrol-qt
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
pavucontrol-qt is already the newest version (0.2.0-1).
pulseaudio is already the newest version (10.0-1+deb9u1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ artsplay /opt/trinity/share/sounds/KDE_Startup.wav

no sound

brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ sudo apt install pulseaudio pavucontrol-qt
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
pavucontrol-qt is already the newest version (0.2.0-1).
pulseaudio is already the newest version (10.0-1+deb9u1).
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ artsplay /opt/trinity/share/sounds/KDE_Startup.wav
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ artsshell terminate
sound server terminated
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ aplay /opt/trinity/share/sounds/KDE_Startup.wav
bash: aplay: command not found
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ aplay /opt/trinity/share/sounds/KDE_Startup.wav

no sound

brian@q4os-desktop:~/Desktop$ artsd -l 0
artsd version is 1.5.10
[artsd: 24121] SoundServerStartup --> got lock
autodetecting driver:
- oss: 10
- alsa: 15
- null: -1
- toss: 4
... which means we'll default to alsa
ALSA driver: default
buffering: 7 fragments with 1024 bytes (audio latency is 40.6 ms)
Closing ALSA-driver
virtualize StereoVolumeControl
ALSA driver: default
buffering: 7 fragments with 1024 bytes (audio latency is 40.6 ms)
audio format is 44100 Hz, 16 bits, 2 channels
addDirectory(/opt/trinity/lib/mcop,)
addDirectory(/opt/trinity/lib/mcop/Arts,Arts)
addDirectory(/home/brian/.mcop/trader-cache,)
[artsd: 24121] SoundServerStartup <-- released lock
xrun!!

Offline

#8 2019-01-22 22:03

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

still nothing

ran sudo lspci -v

and got this

00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801I (ICH9 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
        Subsystem: Intel Corporation Optiplex 755
        Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 27
        Memory at fe9f8000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
        Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
        Capabilities: [60] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
        Capabilities: [70] Express Root Complex Integrated Endpoint, MSI 00
        Capabilities: [100] Virtual Channel
        Capabilities: [130] Root Complex Link
        Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
        Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel

Offline

#9 2019-01-22 22:08

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

grabbed a .wav file from internet, and got this....

brian@q4os-desktop:~/Downloads$ ls
griffin-01.wav
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Downloads$ aplay -v griffin-01.wav
bash: aplay: command not found
brian@q4os-desktop:~/Downloads$

Offline

#10 2019-01-22 23:01

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,169
Website

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

You need to install "alsa-utils" package.
$ sudo apt install alsa-utils
Try to run "aplay" commands again and post the result.

Offline

#11 2019-01-23 02:18

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

>
Playing WAVE 'griffin-01.wav' : Unsigned 8 bit, Rate 44100 Hz, Mono
ALSA <-> PulseAudio PCM I/O Plugin
Its setup is:
  stream       : PLAYBACK
  access       : RW_INTERLEAVED
  format       : U8
  subformat    : STD
  channels     : 1
  rate         : 44100
  exact rate   : 44100 (44100/1)
  msbits       : 8
  buffer_size  : 22050
  period_size  : 5512
  period_time  : 125000
  tstamp_mode  : NONE
  tstamp_type  : GETTIMEOFDAY
  period_step  : 1
  avail_min    : 5512
  period_event : 0
  start_threshold  : 22050
  stop_threshold   : 22050
  silence_threshold: 0
  silence_size : 0
  boundary     : 1445068800

Offline

#12 2019-01-23 02:42

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

After a reboot, it is now working, thank you. Can you elaborate about the reinstallation of the ALSA Utils getting this to work? I like to understand a fix as much as possible.

Offline

#13 2019-01-24 08:07

q4osteam
Q4OS Team
Registered: 2015-12-06
Posts: 2,169
Website

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

If you install Q4OS from the installation CD and apply no profile in the Desktop Profiler, the system stays at the most basic and clean state. This install method is recommended for highly experienced users only. You should apply at least the basic profile, the "alsa-utils" package will be installed within the profile.

Offline

#14 2019-01-24 12:01

keith47111
Member
Registered: 2019-01-22
Posts: 8

Re: No sound-- please help --- see machine info below...

Thank you so much, was rather in a hurry the day I installed it on this pc, and didn't realize I had done this...thanks for clarifying what I had done in error.
I was curious as to what had caused this...I actually used Q4OS to install Linux on an OLD  --HP st5740--that supposed to be a thin client only. but after using the IDE ssd as a boot partition only, and shoe-horning a 2.5 inch hdd inside it for the root, and all the rest it works just like a very tiny, portable pc that I got online for $15 that I use for online stuff in hotel rooms when I travel now...so If Q4OS willl get THAT to work this OLD pc should work just fine too...thanks again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB